Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 12 May 2021

UCC and WIT lead the way in teams of the year after Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup action

Eight counties are represented in the football team with seven counties featured in the hurling team.

UCC's Paul Geaney and Brian Kelly.
UCC's Paul Geaney and Brian Kelly.
Image: Presseye/Russell Pritchard/INPHO

UCC AND WIT lead the way in the Higher Education Future Champions teams after this season’s Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup action.

Sigerson Cup champions UCC have eight representatives with the Kerry quintet of Brian Clancy, David Culhane, Fergal McNamara, Paul Geaney and Conor Cox joined by the Cork trio of Tom Clancy, Conor Dorman and Ian McGuire.

UUJ, who narrowly lost the final, have four representatives in the Tyrone pair of Barry Tierney and Ronan O’Neill, Donegal’s Luke Keaney and Antrim’s Niall McKeever.

UCD’s John Heslin, NUI Maynooth’s Patrick McBrearty and St Pat’s Diarmuid Murtagh – a member of their Trench Cup winning side – complete their team.

The Gaelic football team in full is:

1. Brian Kelly (UCC/Kerry); 2. Barry Tierney (UUJ/Tyrone), 3. David Culhane (UCC/Kerry), 4. Fergal McNamara (UCC, Kerry); 5. Tom Clancy (UCC/Cork), 6. Conor Dorman (UCC/Cork), 7. Luke Keaney (UUJ/Donegal); 8. Niall McKeever (UUJ/Antrim), 9. Ian McGuire (UCC/Cork); 10. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Pat’s/Roscommon), 11. Ronan O’Neill (UUJ/Tyrone), 12. John Heslin (UCD/Westmeath); 13. Paul Geaney (UCC/Kerry), 14. Patrick McBrearty (NUIM/Donegal), 15. Conor Cox (UCC/Kerry).

Eoin Murphy celebrates with the trophy WIT captain Eoin Murphy lifts the Fitzgibbon Cup. Source: Presseye/Declan Roughan/INPHO

Waterford IT have six players in the hurling side after their Fitzgibbon Cup triumph earlier this month. Waterford trio Stephen Roche, Pauric Mahony and Jake Dillon are included along with Kilkenny’s Eoin Murphy, Tipperary’s Tomas Hamill and Wexford’s Harry Kehoe.

Runner-up CIT have players included in Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer and the Cork trio of Tomas Lawrence, Eoin Keane and John Cronin.

The team is completed by LIT duo Aaron Murphy and Alan Dempsey, UCC pair David Glynn and Conor Lehane, and Paul Winters from Ryan Cup winners NUI Maynooth.

Here’s the hurling team in full:

1. Aaron Murphy (LIT/Limerick); 2. Alan Dempsey (LIT/Limerick), 3. David Glynn (UCC/Kilkenny), 4. Tomas Lawrence (CIT/Cork); 5. Eoin Keane (CIT/Cork), 6. Eoin Murphy (WIT/Kilkenny), 7. Tomas Hamill (WIT/Tipperary); 8. Stephen Roche (WIT/Waterford), 9. John Cronin (CIT/Cork); 10. John O’Dwyer (CIT/Tipperary), 11. Pauric Mahony (WIT/Waterford), 12. Harry Kehoe (WIT/Wexford); 13. Conor Lehane (UCC/Cork), 14. Jake Dillon (WIT/Waterford), 15. Paul Winters (NUIM/Dublin).

Dorman the scoring hero as UCC cause Sigerson Cup final upset against UUJ

Waterford IT claim Fitzgibbon Cup with victory over Cork IT

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: