This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 29 January, 2020

Poll: Who do you think will win the Ulster senior football title?

Killyclogher, Slaughtneil, Kilcoo and Maghery are the four sides left in contention.

Jason Brown and Conor Laverty Former Down star Conor Laverty is in action with Kilcoo today. Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO

THE ULSTER SENIOR club football championship enters the latter stages today, with a place in the provincial decider on offer.

The Athletic Grounds in Derry is the venue for the clash between Tyrone champions Killyclogher and Slaughtneil of Derry, while Down’s Kilcoo and Armagh’s Maghery do battle in Páirc Esler, Newry.

This is Slaughtneil’s third straight Ulster club campaign, and the four-time Derry champions, who are heavily fancied today, lifted their only provincial title in 2014.

Killyclogher are coming out of Tyrone for just the second time in their history (the first was in 2003) and their five point quarter-final win over Cargin was the club’s first ever victory in the provincial championship.

Kicloo are the dominant force in Down, having won six titles since 2009 and 15 overall. They made it to the Ulster final for the first time in 2012, but fell to Crossmaglen Rangers.

Their opponents Maghery are undoubtedly in bonus territory. They ended a 110-year drought when they secured their first ever Armagh SFC crown last month and will be big underdogs for this clash.

Poll: Who do you think will win the Ulster senior football title?
1 / 4
  • Maghery celebrate their first ever Armagh title

    Source: Presseye/INPHO
  • Kilcoo players savour the moment after their recent county final victory

    Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO
  • The Killyclogher team celebrate their second Tyrone SFC victory

    Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO
  • The Slaughtneil team lift their fourth county title.

    Source: Presseye/Kevin Scott/INPHO

The victors in today’s games will go head-to-head in the final on November 27.

Ahead of today’s last four ties, who do you think will go on to lift the Ulster crown?

Poll Results:

 Slaughtneil (745)
Kilcoo (416)
 Killyclogher (184)
Maghery (77)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Clerkin’s last stand: The last footballer of the ’90s on his legacy, punditry and writing a book

Dublin forward insists it was his decision to depart panel ahead of 2017 season

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: