Dublin: 15°C Tuesday 21 September 2021

Waterford call on big names for season opener

Derek McGrath has included the likes of Maurice Shanahan, Noel Connors and Colin Dunford in his line-up.

Maurice Shanahan starts at full-forward.
Maurice Shanahan starts at full-forward.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

WATERFORD BOSS DEREK McGrath has named a strong side for the Déise’s first outing of the season — a round two Munster Senior Hurling League clash against Limerick in Carriganore at 2pm tomorrow.

McGrath has named six players in his starting XV — Noel Connors, Darragh Fives, Colin Dunford, Jake Dillon, Shane Bennett and Maurice Shanahan — who started last year’s All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Kilkenny.

Limerick manager TJ Ryan has rung the changes ahead of tomorrow’s encounter following their comfortable victory against Kerry in round one last weekend.

Kerry host Cork in the league’s other fixture tomorrow with both sides looking to recover from losses last weekend. It’s a busy weekend for the Rebels with two games in two days; the first being today’s annual Canon Michael O’Brien Cup against UCC.


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
3. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Paudie Pender (Lismore)
6. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
7. Gavin O Brien (Roanmore)

8. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
9. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

10. Michael Harney (Bunmahon)
11. Thomas Ryan (Tallow)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

13. Brian O Halloran (Clashmore Kinsalebeg)
14. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
15. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

9 young footballers to watch in 2016

New Tipp hurling boss Michael Ryan will ruffle a few feathers in the quest for success

About the author:

Alan Waldron

Read next: