This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 21 February, 2020

Another boost for Wexford hurling as Dunbar hat-trick powers U21 side into Leinster final

A ten-point victory for Wexford at home tonight.

Cathal Dunbar bagged a hat-trick for the Wexford U21 hurlers.
Cathal Dunbar bagged a hat-trick for the Wexford U21 hurlers.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Wexford 3-16
Carlow 1-12

WEXFORD HURLING FANS will have two Leinster hurling finals to look forward to in the space of four days at the start of next month.

After the senior side’s recent brilliant triumph over Kilkenny, the Wexford U21′s were inspired by a hat-trick of goals from Cathal Dunbar tonight at Innovate Wexford Park as they got past Carlow in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling semi-final.

The success propels them into an U21 final meeting with Kilkenny on 5 July, after the senior decider against Galway on 2 July.

Dunbar bagged two first-half goals to push Wexford into a commanding position at the break as they went in front 2-6 to 0-5 at half-time.

Joe Coleman weighed in with four points for Wexford as well with Chris Nolan the biggest source of scores for Carlow.

A Conor Foley goal in the 45th minute gave Carlow some brief hope but Dunbar reaffirmed Wexford’s superiority when he replied with his third goal.

A fourth final in five years beckons for Wexford and they will be aiming for their fourth title in that time frame.

More to follows…

Scorers for Wexford: Joe Coleman 0-10 (0-7f), Cathal Dunbar 3-0, Darragh Pepper, Rory O’Connor 0-2 each, Gary Molloy, Joe O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carlow: Chris Nolan 0-8 (0-7f), Conor Foley 1-0, Kevin McDonald 0-2, Owen Roberts, Sean Brennan 0-1 each.


1. Darragh Hughes (Naomh Eanna)

2. Brian Quigley (Rathnure)
3. Darren Byrne (Blackwater)
4. Shane Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)

5. Rowan White (Glynn-Barntown)
6. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
7. Gary Molloy (Naomh Eanna)

8. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)
9. Daire Barden (Fethard)

10. Harry O’Connor (St Martin’s)
11. S Kelly
12. Joe Coleman (St Martin’s)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarret)
14. Stephen O’Gorman (Taghmon)
15. Darragh Pepper (Rapparees)


Conor Firman (St Martin’s) for Barden (half-time)
Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s) for Kelly (h-t)
Jake Firman (St Martin’s) for H O’Connor (43)
Cormac Moore (Ballygarrett) for White (59)


1. Damien Jordan (Naomh Eoin)

2. Andrew Casey (Muinebeag)
3. A Amond
4. Padraic Coughlan (Naomh Bríd)

5. Gary Lawlor (Mount Leinster Rangers)
6. Eoin Redmond (Naomh Eoin)
7. Adam Dunne (Naomh Eoin)

8. Ger Coady (St Mullins)
9. Kevin McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers)

10. John Murphy (St Mullins)
11. Conor Foley
12. Owen Roberts (Ballinkillen)

13. Cathal Treacy (Naomh Eoin)
14. Chris Nolan (Mount Leinster Rangers)
15. Seanie Whelan (Ballinkillen)

Referee: John O’Brien (Laois)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kilkenny avoid another shock in Mullingar as they finish strongly to see off battling Westmeath

Life without Diarmuid – Dublin set to start without Connolly for first time after 28-game run

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: