Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Lee Chin and Shane Dowling will be key for their teams tomorrow.
Wexford and Limerick unveil starting sides for hurling league semi-final battles
Wexford take on Tipperary while Limerick entertain Galway.

WEXFORD AND LIMERICK are both chasing the milestone of an Allianz hurling league final appearance this weekend, and they’ve named unchanged sides as they go in search of victories in tomorrow’s semi-final ties.

Wexford take on Tipperary in Nowlan Park at 4pm while Limerick entertain Galway in the Gaelic Grounds at 2pm.

Wexford boss Davy Fitzgerald has kept faith with the team that claimed the county’s first win at Nowlan Park over Kilkenny in 60 years, while Limerick manager John Kiely has also unveiled an unchanged side after their quarter-final success over Cork.

1993 was the last time Wexford reached a hurling league decider and they haven’t won this competition since 1973. Limerick’s last final appearance was in 2006 and their last title win came in 1997.


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown)

2. Willie Devereux (St Martin’s)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. James Breen (Adamstown)

5. Damien Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)
6. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James – joint captain)
7. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Anne’s)

8. Aidan Nolan (Half Way House /Bunclody)
9. Shaun Murphy (Oulart The Ballagh)

10. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
11. David Redmond (Oulart The Ballagh)
12. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s)

13. Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s)
14. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers – joint captain)
15. David Dunne (Davidstown Courtnacuddy)


16. Oliver O’leary (Buffers Alley)
17. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna)
18. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
19. Barry Carton (Cloughbawn)
20. Eanna Martin (Carrickshock)
21. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
22. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)
23. Jack Guiney (Rathnure)
24. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
25. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
26. Nicky Kirwan (Oulart The Ballagh)


1. Nickie Quiad (Effin)

2. Richie English (Doon)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell – captain)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)

8. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
9. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

10. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
11. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)

13. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
14. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla)
18. Sean Finn (Bruff)
19. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)
20. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
21. John Fitzgibbon (Adare)
22. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
23. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
24. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
25. Sean Tobin (Murroe/Boher)
26. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)

The42 GAA / SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

The game in your head – Inside the mind of Dublin footballer Paul Flynn

Tipperary’s Cathal Barrett to make first start of the year in Sunday’s league semi with Wexford

Your Voice
Readers Comments