Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO WIT's Jake Dillon and UL's David McInerney in opposition.
Round Two Beckons

80 minutes and 36 scores in Fitzgibbon Cup final draw as UL and WIT head for replay

There was no separating the teams after extra-time tonight in the Gaelic Grounds.

UL 3-12
Waterford IT 0-21

A DRAMATIC FITZGIBBON Cup final ended with a replay as the outcome last night at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick as Waterford IT defender Tom Fox popped up as their unlikely hero with a last-gasp point to tie the teams after extra-time.

Reigning champions WIT looked down and out when substitute Stephen Bennett cracked home UL’s third goal in the 74th minute and Laois forward PJ Scully followed that up with a neat point.

UL were 3-12 to 0-17 clear and five minutes away from glory but they couldn’t kill the game and shake off the persistent challenge of WIT. Firstly Pauric Mahony converted a ’65 and then centre-back Martin O’Neill fired over two fantastic points to cut the deficit to the minimum.

WIT’s hectic schedule saw them play their quarter-final last Tuesday, endure extra-time in their semi-final yesterday and then experience extra-time again tonight. Yet despite their energy reserves being sapped, they patiently worked a move in the 80th minute which culminated in Fox firing over a point off his left.

Brian Troy clears under pressure Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO Brian Troy clears under pressure for UL. Lorraine O'Sullivan / INPHO / INPHO

The game began slowly but it ended in a blaze of drama and excitement. UL were in front by 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval despite having hurled into the strong wind. They got a further boost early in the second-half when Tommy Heffernan cleverly finished to the net.

WIT hit back to cut the deficit to the minimum, 1-7 to 0-9, by the 43rd minute but UL took over once more with a Jason Forde free pushing them ahead 1-10 to 0-9 with ten minutes left.

Scorers for UL: John McGrath 0-5 (0-3f), Tommy Heffernan & Jason Forde (0-1f) 1-1 each, Stephen Bennett 1-0, Tony Kelly 0-2 (1f), Kevin O’Brien, Cathal McInerney & PJ Scully 0-1 each.

Scorers for WIT: Pauric Mahony 0-8 (5f, 1 65), Johnny Hayes 0-3, Tom Fox, Martin O’Neill, Jake Dillon & Austin Gleeson (0-1 sideline) 0-2 each, Harry Kehoe & Tomas Hamill 0-1 each.


1. Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy, Tipperary)

17. Gearoid Ryan (Clarecastle, Clare)
6. Brian Troy (Emeralds, Clare)
4. Eoin Moriarty (Emeralds, Kilkenny)

5. Daire Quinn (Éire Óg Nenagh, Tipperary)
3. David McInerney (Tulla, Clare)
7. Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons, Tipperary)

8. Jason Forde (Silvermines, Tipperary)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare)

19. Dan Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick)
10. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)
12. Tommy Heffernan (Éire Óg Nenagh, Tipperary)

24. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe, Clare)
14. Conor Martin (Emeralds, Kilkenny)
13. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell, Limerick)

25. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford) for McGrath (49)
20. PJ Scully (Borris/Kilcotton, Laois) for C McInerney (57)
15. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell, Limerick) for O’Brien (68)
23. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley, Clare) for Martin (76)

Waterford IT

1. Darragh Stapleton (Doon, Limerick)

4. Jerome Maher (Geraldines, Waterford)
7. Owen McGrath (John Lockes, Kilkenny)
3. Ger Teehan (Graigue-Ballycallan, Kilkenny),

5. Thomas Hamill (JK Brackens, Tipperary)
6. Martin O’Neill (Mount Sion, Waterford)
2. Tom Fox (Éire Óg-Annacarty, Tipperary)

8. Jack Langton (Clara, Kilkenny)
9. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion, Waterford)

13. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore, Waterford)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner, Waterford)
10. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn, Wexford)

14. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)
12. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion, Waterford)
15. Jake Dillon (De La Salle, Waterford)

20. Johnny Hayes (Kilmacow, Kilkenny) for L McGrath (49)
21. Ciaran O’Brien (St Ita’s, Cork) for Gleeson (78)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

This article was originally published on 28 February at 9.55pm

Derry denied first win as Tyrone snatch late draw in Ulster derby

Dublin’s Sutcliffe stars as Trinity College claim first Ryan Cup hurling crown

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.