The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 24 April, 2018

Tallon and McGuigan point the way as Derry claim extra-time Ulster U21 semi-final victory over Armagh

Donegal now await in the decider on Monday night.

Derry 0-21
Armagh 1-15

THEY WERE PEGGED back in normal time but Derry got the job done against Armagh in extra-time in tonight’s semi-final clash in Celtic Park to seal a first EirGrid Ulster U21 final place in nine years.

Armagh's Ryan O'Neill and Conor McGrogan of Derry Armagh's Ryan O'Neill and Conor McGrogan of Derry Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Derry finished strongly in extra-time to run out victors by three points with Glen’s Danny Tallon and Slaughtneil’s Shane McGuigan hitting a combined total of 0-14 for the Oak Leaf County.

They’ll now face Donegal in Monday night’s final where they will attempt to land the county’s first provincial title at this level since 1997.

A brilliant injury-time free from Tallon edged Derry ahead 0-14 to 1-10 at the end of normal time but Armagh centre-forward Oisin O’Neill rescued them with a late equaliser to send the game into extra-time.

It was O’Neill who struck the only goal of the game, the St Mary’s Sigerson Cup winner hitting the net in the first half to send Armagh into a 1-6 to 0-8 interval lead.

Armagh's Jason Duffy with Michael McEvoy and Ben McKinless of Derry Armagh's Jason Duffy tries to charge past the Derry rearguard. Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Derry recovered in the second half to stay in touch in a tightly contested match. Peter Hagan, Tallon and McGuigan helped Derry go ahead 0-17 to 1-12 at the midway mark of extra-time.

But a brace of points from Thomas O’Kane brought Armagh back into it as they trailed Derry 0-18 to 1-14 by the 75th minute. However Derry finished strongly with Tallon, Hagan and Eamonn McGill all grabbing points.

Armagh's Oisin O'Neill scores a goal Oisin O'Neill hits the net for Armagh Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Scorers for Derry: Danny Tallon 0-8 (0-4f), Shane McGuigan 0-6 (0-5f), Peter Hagan 0-3, Patrick Kearney 0-2, Dean Curran, Eamonn McGill 0-1.

Scorers for Armagh: Oisin O’Neill 1-5 (0-3f), Rian O’Neill (0-1f), Thomas O’Kane, Shea Loye 0-2 each Caolan McConville, Shea Hoey, Callum O’Neill, Steven Morris 0-1 each.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Donegal issue statement of intent as they hit 3 goals en route to 13-point Ulster U21 win over Cavan

Tipperary strike late for victory over Limerick in 6-goal Munster minor hurling thriller

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: