The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Friday 27 April, 2018

Four senior footballers in Mayo side for Connacht U21 opener

Mayo face Leitrim tomorrow.

Diarmuid O'Connor will be a key man for the Mayo U21 side.
Diarmuid O'Connor will be a key man for the Mayo U21 side.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

MAYO HAVE INCLUDED four senior stars in their side for tomrrow’s EirGrid Connacht U21 semi-final clash against Leitrim.

The teams meet in Carrick-on-Shannon in what will be their opening clash in the U21 championship.

The 2015 Young Footballer of the Year Diarmuid O’Connor starts at left half-forward while team captain Stephen Coen will line out at midfield.

The other two players in the Mayo side who have lined out for Stephen Rochford’s senior side in the league this spring are centre-back Michael Hall and centre-forward Conor Loftus.


1. Matthew Flanagan (Balla)

2. Eddie Doran (Achill)
3. Seamus Cunniffe (Ballaghaderreen)
4. Ciaran Harrison (Aghamore)

5. David Kenny (Aghamore)
6. Michael Hall (Breaffy)
7. James Kelly (Belmullet)

8. Val Roughneen (Balla)
9. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore – captain)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)
14. Brian Reape (Moy Davitts)
15. Fionan Duffy (Crossmolina)


16. Scott Kilker (Belmullet)
17. Shairoze Akram (Ballaghaderreen)
18. T.J Byrne (Kiltimagh)
19. Barry Duffy (Balla)
20. James Lyons (Aghamore)
21. Eoin O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
22. Colm Reape (Knockmore)
23. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
24. Mikey Murray (Ballina)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Cork make one switch in defence for clash with Tipperary

One change for Dublin and three for Laois for EirGrid Leinster U21 semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel