This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 19 October, 2018


16,666 Views 15 Comments

Afternoon all, we’re getting set for the last big GAA Sunday of the year with the AIB Leinster senior club football final set to bring the 2016 provincial club campaign to a close.

Dublin’s St Vincent’s against Offaly’s Rhode in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise at 2pm.

These clubs couldn’t have more contrasting club final records in Leinster football. St Vincent’s have appeared in seven Leinster senior deciders previously. They’ve six title wins to their credit – 1972, 1975, 1984, 2007, 2013 and 2014 – with just a single final loss back in 1977.

In contrast Rhode have been luckless at this level. They have lost four finals and all in the last decade – 2006 to Moorefield, 2008 and 2010 to Kilmacud Crokes and 2014 to St Vincent’s.

Here’s the starting teams.

St Vincent’s

1. Michael Savage

2. Michael Concarr
3. Jarlath Curley
4. Craig Wilson

24. Nathan Mullins
6. Ger Brennan
7. Cameron Diamond

8. Daithi Murphy
9. Shane Carthy

10. Gavin Burke
11. Diarmuid Connolly
12. Cormac Diamond

13. Ruairi Trainor
14. Enda Varley 15. Tomas Quinn


1. Kenny Garry

2. Brian Darby
3. Shane Sullivan
4. Jake Kavanagh

19. Darren Garry
6. Eoin Rigney
7. Niall Darby

8. Alan McNamee
9. Conor McNamee

10. James McPadden
11. Niall McNamee
12. Pauric Sullivan

13. Paul McPadden
14. Ruairi McNamee
15. Stephen Hannon

Game on in O’Moore Park.

St Vincent’s 0-1 Rhode 0-1
4 mins – First white flag of the day is raised after Gavin Burke swings over a point off his right. Rhode retort quickly through Paul McPadden.

St Vincent’s 1-1 Rhode 0-1
6 mins – Cracking finish by Vincent’s talisman. Connolly drills a shot with his left foot to the bottom corner of the net.

St Vincent’s 1-1 Rhode 0-2
8 mins – Brian Darby is fouled after surging forward for Rhode and Niall McNamee taps over the resultant free.

St Vincent’s 1-2 Rhode 0-3
10 mins – Stylish shooting from the chief marksmen on both sides, first from Niall McNamee for Rhode and then Connolly for Vincent’s.

St Vincent’s 1-3 Rhode 0-3
12 mins – First score of the day for Mossy Quinn, he pushes St Vincent’s ahead by three.

St Vincent’s 1-3 Rhode 0-4
14 mins – Patient play by Rhode, couple of nice breaks by Niall McNamee and Brian Darby to inject urgency to their attacks which culminates in Conor McNamee tapping over a point.

St Vincent’s 1-4 Rhode 0-4
15 mins – St Vincent’s are able to counter each time and pick off their points. Connolly sprays a pass crossfield and it is Shane Carthy who simply knocks over a score. Three in it again.

Mossy Quinn sees his free hit the post and after St Vincent’s gather the rebound, the pass is recycled before Gavin Burke shoots wide off his left.

St Vincent’s 1-5 Rhode 0-4
21 mins – Enda Varley has been a fine addition to the St Vincent’s attack this season. The Mayo man curls over a point to push the Dublin champions four clear.

St Vincent’s 1-6 Rhode 0-4
22 mins – Plenty good kickers in this Vincent’s team. Cormac Diamond pops over a point off his left.

St Vincent’s 1-6 Rhode 0-5
24 mins – A converted Niall McNamee free cuts the deficit Rhode are facing.

St Vincent’s 1-6 Rhode 0-6
25 mins – Another point for Rhode, Darren Garry on this occasion. They’re hanging in there as half-time approaches.

St Vincent’s 1-7 Rhode 0-6
28 mins – Wonderful point by Connolly off his left.

A late Gavin Burke point gives St Vincent’s a five-point lead at the interval.

Second-half under way in O’Moore Park.

St Vincent’s 1-10 Rhode 0-8
32 mins – Quinn and Burke raise white flags for Vincent’s, Niall Darby and Darren Garry have scored for Rhode.

Fiachra Breathnach came on for Ger Brennan for St Vincent’s after he was shown a black card.

St Vincent’s 1-10 Rhode 0-9
34 mins – Another for Rhode, this time from Ciaran Heavey.

St Vincent’s 1-11 Rhode 0-10
37 mins – Varley picks off a point for Vincent’s, McNamee grabs a free in response for Rhode.

Sub - St Vincent’s bring in Albert Mullins for Daithi Murphy.

St Vincent’s 1-12 Rhode 0-10
42 mins – Mossy Quinn makes amends for a couple of earlier efforts as he slots over a free.

Sub - Joe Feeney on for St Vincent’s as the injured Albert Martin makes way.

St Vincent’s 1-13 Rhode 0-10
49 mins – Another Mossy Quinn point and Vincent’s go six clear.

St Vincent’s 1-15 Rhode 0-10
51 mins – They’re turning on the style now, St Vincent’s. Joe Feeney and Ruairi Trainor both point. The gap is out to eight.

Sub - Dylan Kavanagh is in for Rhode for Ciaran Heavey.

St Vincent’s 1-15 Rhode 0-11
54 mins – McNamee bags a free for Rhode but it’s hard to see them staging an improbable comeback.

Two minutes left, this game is winding down to another St Vincent’s victory. James McCusker comes in to their defence for Cameron Diamond.

Rhode nearly get in for a consolation goal but Conor McNamee’s shot goes whistling past the post.

St Vincent’s 1-16 Rhode 0-11
60 mins – No mistake at the other end as Shane Carthy splits the posts. Job done for the Dublin champions, Slaughtneil beckon in the semi-final in February.

St Vincent’s 1-16 Rhode 0-12
62 mins – Niall McNamee blasts a close range free towards the goal, the ball is tipped over the bar by a Vincent’s defender.

Sub - Kevin Bonnie the latest Vincent’s sub with Enda Varley being replaced.

A job well done by St Vincent’s, a third Leinster crown in four years. They’re back in the last four of the All-Ireland series.

Tough on Rhode as they suffer a fifth Leinster club final loss in 11 seasons. The penalty miss before half-time was a killer setback and Vincent’s were just too clinical and strong for them.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole