This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 13 July, 2020

Dave Foley's giant strides and GAA Allstars aplenty - Tipperary's 2014 sporting highlights

Cathal Barrett winning Young Hurler of the Year and other memorable occasions.

But what about [insert your county here]? Don’t worry, we’ll be producing a series of articles that will cover every county in Ireland – even yours – over the next few weeks. See the ones we’ve already covered here.

1. Shane Long sealing his £12million move to Southampton


2. And then coming good in an important game

3. Thomas Hamill, Joe O’Dwyer and Liam McGrath winning Fitzgibbon Cup medals with Waterford IT

Liam McGrath and Bill Cooper Source: Presseye/Declan Roughan/INPHO

4. Just the seven All-Stars – take a bow Shane McGrath, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Seamus Callanan, Darren Gleeson, Patrick Maher and John O’Dwyer

Tipp Source: Paul Mohan/SPORTSFILE

5. Cathal Barrett winning Young Hurler of the Year

Cathal 3 Source: Paul Mohan/SPORTSFILE

6. Séamus Callanan’s incredible 3-8 against Galway

Source: The Gaelic Gospel/YouTube

7. ‘The Tipperary Tornado’ Matthew Macklin grabbing headlines with his Dublin eliminator fight

Matthew Macklin Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

8. Tommy O’Donnell playing an important role in Ireland’s defeat of the Springboks

Tommy O'Donnell Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

9. Dave Foley forming a solid partnership with Paul O’Connell and getting called up to the Ireland squad, and subsequently getting man-of-the-match against Georgia

MunsterÕs Dave Foley Source: Inpho/Billy Stickland

10. Michael Quinlivan winning the Sigerson Cup with UCC

Michael Quillivan and David Hyland 21/2/2014 Source: William Cherry Press Eye

11. Colin O’Riordan getting nominated for an All-Star football award, becoming the first Tipp player to earn this accolade since 2003

Colin OÕRiordan celebrates 12/7/2014 Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

12. Ciarán McDonald making the Ireland international rules team

Ciaran McDonald and Michael Murphy Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

13. Siobhan O’Doherty being part of the Ireland team that won a bronze medal at the European Cross Country Championships

The Ireland Senior Women team celebrate with their bronze medals Source: Sasa Pahic Szabo/INPHO

David Moyes plus 8 other British and Irish managers who have worked abroad>

Alan McLoughlin: Roy Keane rang me to apologise over book comments>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: