This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 17 June, 2019

3 Irish players make the 12-man shortlist for the 6 Nations Player of the Tournament

There are four English men, two apiece from Scotland and Wales, one from Italy and none from France on the list.

The displays of Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray and Paul O'Connell have been recognised.
The displays of Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray and Paul O'Connell have been recognised.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

THREE IRISH PLAYERS have been recognised for their brilliant performances in this year’s 6 Nations tournament.

Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray and Paul O’Connell were all central to Ireland’s triumph and make the cut on the 12-man shortlist on the official Six Nations website.

But it is runners-up England who have the most representatives on the 12-man shortlist in George Ford, Jonathan Joseph, Billy Vunipola and Ben Youngs.

Wales have two nominees in Dan Biggar and Alun Wyn-Jones while Scotland have Jonny Gray and Stuart Hogg.

Captain Sergio Parisse is the solitary Italian player included while no French players have made the cut.

Voting is now open on the website and closes at midnight on Wednesday.

The shortlist in full is:

  1. Biggar, Dan (WAL)
  2. Ford, George (ENG)
  3. Gray, Jonny (SCO)
  4. Henshaw, Robbie (IRE)
  5. Hogg, Stuart (SCO)
  6. Jones, Alun Wyn (WAL)
  7. Joseph, Jonathan (ENG)
  8. Murray, Conor (IRE)
  9. O’Connell, Paul (IRE)
  10. Parisse, Sergio (ITA)
  11. Vunipola, Billy (ENG)
  12. Youngs, Ben (ENG)

Analysis: Ireland’s attacking belief flows to fire them to Six Nations title

The42′s virtually impossible 2015 Six Nations quiz

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: