Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Friday 14 May 2021

GAA stars set to feature in Shanghai in the first official hurling game in China

The 2012 and 2013 Allstar hurling sides face off next Saturday.

Clare's Colm Galvin and John Conlon.
Clare's Colm Galvin and John Conlon.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

THE 2012 AND 2013 hurling Opel Allstar teams will face off in Shanghai next Saturday in the first official hurling game to be played in China.

The Allstar sides jet off tomorrow as part of a 100-strong Irish delegation, that includes GAA President Liam O’Neill. The game will take place at the Shanghai rugby football club in Waigaoqiao next Saturday from 12pm – 4pm.

The match is expected to be a 13-a-side contest. 29 players are travelling with replacements having had to be drafted in due to the unavailabilty of some of the Allstar winners. Clare boss Davy Fitzgerald is also unable to travel with Kilkenny manager Brian Cody the only management figure to be in attendance.

From the 2012 Allstar hurling team, Galway’s Fergal Moore and Damien Hayes and the Kilkenny duo TJ Reid and Henry Shefflin are not travelling. Their replacements are Michael Cahill, Cyril Donnellan, Patrick Maher and Eoin Larkin.

From the 2013 Allstar winning side, club commitments rule out Conor Ryan, Padraic Collins and Conor McGrath as they will be in action in next Sunday’s Munster SFC club final.

Dublin’s Danny Sutcliffe and Cork’s Seamus Harnedy also not travelling while Anthony Nash and Brendan Bugler were part of both Allstar sides.

Limerick’s Nickie Quaid and Paul Browne,  Cork’s Conor Lehane, Dublin’s Joey Boland, Kilkenny’s Kieran Joyce and Clare’s John Conlon will all make up part of the 2013 team instead.


Cork’s Conor Lehane.
Pic: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

2012 Team

Anthony Nash Cork
JJ Delaney Kilkenny
Michael Cahill Tipperary
Brian Hogan Kilkenny
Paul Murphy Kilkenny
David Collins Galway
Iarla Tannian Galway
Joe Canning Galway
David Burke Galway
Brendan Bugler Clare
Kevin Moran Waterford
Patrick Maher Tipperary
John Mullane Waterford
Cyril Donnellan Galway
Eoin Larkin Kilkenny


Kilkenny’s Eoin Larkin
Pic: INPHO/Donall Farmer

2013 Team

Nickie Quaid Limerick
Richie McCarthy Limerick
Peter Kelly Dublin
David McInerney Clare
Kieran Joyce Kilkenny
Liam Rushe Dublin
Pa Donnellan Clare
Colm Galvin Clare
Tony Kelly Clare
Paul Browne Limerick
Conor Lehane Cork
Patrick Horgan Cork
Joey Boland Dublin
John Conlon Clare

Clare hurler McGrath wins suspension appeal to play in Munster club football final

Here’s the key GAA club fixtures for the week ahead

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: