Dublin: 11°C Wednesday 20 October 2021

Are you ready for the weekend? Here's your National Football League team news

Three changes for Dublin, four for Kerry, five for Cork. We’ve got all the details right here.

Michael Savage starts in goal for Dublin against Laois tomorrow night.
Michael Savage starts in goal for Dublin against Laois tomorrow night.
Image: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

MICHAEL SAVAGE REPLACES Stephen Cluxton in the Dublin goal for tomorrow night’s NFL Division 1 trip to O’Moore Park, Portlaoise.

Dubs boss Pat Gilroy has made three changes from the side which lined out in the abandoned game against Mayo three weekends ago. Eamon Fennell gets the nod in midfield ahead of Michael Dara Macauley while in the half-forward line, Bryan Cullen makes way for Paul Flynn. Ger Brennan will captain the side in Cullen’s absence.

Gilroy named James McCarthy at wing-back this morning, but Ballymun man has since lost his appeal against the red card he received in Castlebar. McCarthy will now serve a one-match ban and is likely to miss tomorrow’s game.

Justin McNulty has made just one personnel change ahead of the visit of the All-Ireland champions; Billy Sheehan comes in to replace David Conway at corner forward.

Laois (SF v Dublin): E Culleton; C Healy, K Lillis, P O’Leary; D Strong, K Meaney, C Boyle; B Quigley, J O’Loughlin; R Munnelly, C Begley, D O’Connor; P Cahillane, P Clancy, B Sheehan.
Dublin (SF v Laois): M Savage; D Daly, R O’Caroll, P McMahon; J McCarthy, G Brennan, C Dias; E Fennell, R McConnell; P Flynn, K McManamon, P Brogan; D Connolly, E O’Gara, T Quinn.


Kerry welcome back Declan O’Sullivan for Sunday’s meeting with Down in Newry.

Jack O’Connor’s men came unstuck against northern opposition in Armagh last time out, and O’Connor has made four changes for this weekend.

O’Sullivan returns after a hectic club campaign with Dromid Pearses, filling the gap left vacant by Seán O’Sullivan at wing-forward. O’Sullivan decided to retire earlier this month following a brief attempt to resurrect his inter-county career.

Daniel Bohan and Peter Crowley are named in the back lines in place of Shane Enright and the suspended Tomás Ó Sé. Patrick Curtin is the selection at corner-forward ahead of Billy John Keane, who drops to the bench.

Kerry (SF v Down): B Kealy; M Ó Sé, D Bohan, K Young; P Crowley, A O’Mahony, B Maguire; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Darran O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan; J O’Donoghue, K Donaghy (capt), P Curtin.

Down (SF v Kerry): TBA


Conor Counihan has also rung the changes as he looks to extend Cork’s unbeaten start to the season when they travel to Ballybofey on Sunday afternoon.

Ken O’Halloran gets his chance in goal, one of five changes to the side which beat Down in Páirc Uí Chaoimh three weekends ago.

Michael Shields is suspended, so that opens up a space for Eoin O’Mahony at full back. He’s joined by Eoin Cotter, who replaces the injured Eoin Cadogan in the number four jersey.

Colm O’Neill makes his first start of the season, and Paul Kerrigan comes in at wing-forward with Fintan Goold dropping back to partner Alan O’Connor in midfield.

Cork (SF v Donegal): K O’Halloran; R Carey, E O’Mahony, E Cotter; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; A O’Connor, F Goold; P Kerrigan, M Collins, P Kelly; C O’Neill, D O’Connor, B O’Driscoll.
Donegal (SF v Cork): TBA


Ciarán McKeever’s suspension and injury to Eugene McVerry have forced two changes on Paddy O’Rourke for tomorrow evening’s meeting with Mayo in the Morgan Athletic Grounds.

McKeever’s one-game ban for his part in the melee against Cork was upheld by the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) last Saturday, and he is replaced by Paul Duffy at centre-back. Gavin McPartland comes into the full-forward line in place of McVerry, who could be sidelined for up to three months with a dislocated shoulder.

James Horan has freshened up the Mayo starting XV with four changes from the team which lined out against Dublin. Ger Cafferkey and Richie Feeney start at the back in place of Eoghan Reilly and Peadar Gardiner. Up front, Andy Moran and Jason Doherty start, with Cillian O’Connor and Kevin McLoughlin both dropping to the bench.

Armagh (SF v Mayo): P McEvoy; A Mallon, B Donaghy, D McKenna; K Dyas, P Duffy, F Moriarty; C Vernon, M Mackin; A Forker, B Mallon, A Duffy; C Rafferty, J Kingham, G McParland.
Mayo (SF v Armagh): D Clarke; K Keane, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; R Feeney, D Vaughan, L Keegan; A O’Shea, B Moran; A Freeman, A Dillon, J Doherty; C Mortimer, A Moran, E Varley.

National Football League fixtures

Division 1:

  • Armagh v Mayo (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Laois v Dublin (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Donegal v Cork (Sunday, 2pm)
  • Down v Kerry (Sunday, 2.30pm)

Division 2:

  • Derry v Monaghan (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Meath v Kildare (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Westmeath v Galway (Sunday, 2.30pm)
  • Louth v Tyrone (Sunday, 2.30pm)

Division 3:

  • Antrim v Offaly (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Cavan v Sligo (Saturday, 7pm)
  • Longford v Roscommon (Sunday, 2.30pm)
  • Wexford v Tipperary (Sunday, 2.30pm)

Division 4:

  • Kilkenny v Fermanagh (Sunday, 1pm)
  • London v Carlow (Sunday, 1pm)
  • Clare v Limerick (Sunday, 2.30pm)
  • Wicklow v Waterford (Sunday, 2.30pm)

Watch: McKeever and Mortimer look forward to league showdown

We’ve got your back: Kelly and Corbett tip Macklin to shine on the big stage

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: