This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 17 October, 2019

Austin Stacks, Corofin, Slaughtneil or St Vincent's - who'll win the All-Ireland SFC club title?

Kerry, Galway, Derry and Dublin clubs will battle it out next spring.

St Vincent's players celebrate with the trophy St Vincent's players celebrate yesterday's Leinster final win. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

WE’RE LEFT WITH four teams standing.

The race for the 2015 All-Ireland senior club football title became clearer after yesterday’s events in Ruislip and Navan.

Corofin’s All-Ireland quarter-final triumph and St Vincent’s Leinster final success means the Galway and Dublin outfits will face each other next spring at the last four stage. The other semi-final will be a meeting between Kerry’s Austin Stacks and Derry’s Slaughtneil.

But who do you think will win it out now?

Poll Results:

St Vincent's (1352)
Corofin (612)
Austin Stacks (406)
Slaughtneil (136)

The Corofin team celebrate after the game Corofin won the Connacht final last month Source: James Crombie/INPHO

St Vincent’s are the reigning All-Ireland champions, the club’s third such title after previous wins in 1976 and 2007. Corofin were All-Ireland champions back in 1998 while this will be their sixth time in the All-Ireland series. They haven’t had much luck in semi-finals though losing out recently to Kilmacud Crokes in 2009 and St Galls in 2010.

Derry’s Slaughtneil will be breaking new ground after recently winning the Ulster crown for the first time. Austin Stacks won the All-Ireland club title back in 1977 and this will be only their second time on the national club stage.

Stephen Stack celebrates with Kieran Donaghy Manager Stephen Stack and Kieran Donaghy in a joyous mood after Austin Stacks success Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Slaughtneil players celebrate the final whistle Slaughtneil players celebrate their Ulster final win. Source: Presseye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

How much do you remember from the 2014 GAA club season?

Ballyhale, Gort, Kilmallock or Portaferry – who’ll win the All-Ireland SHC club title?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: