Donall Farmer/INPHO Ben O'Connor celebrates Oulart-the-Ballagh's win in Wexford.
# Movers and Shakers
Ballyhale dethrone Kilkenny kingpins as Davy watches Oulart win in Wexford again
It was a day of big outcomes in Leinster club hurling.

IT WAS A day of big club hurling outcomes in Leinster as Ballyhale Shamrocks dethroned reigning Kilkenny champions Clara at the semi-final stage while new Wexford manager Davy Fitzgerald watched Oulart-the-Ballagh triumph in the south-east again.

The Kilkenny decider will be contested by Ballyhale Shamrocks and O’Loughlin Gaels for the first time since 2006 after their semi-final wins in Nowlan Park this afternoon.

Ballyhale Shamrocks saw off Clara by 0-19 to 0-16 as they outscored their opponents 0-5 to 0-2 in the finale with TJ Reid (3) and Colin Fennelly (2) supplying the goods when their team needed it most.

Ballyhale were in front by 0-10 to 0-7 at the break before being hauled back in the second-half by a Clara team, who had Chris Bolger in good scoring form. But Reid, Fennelly and Henry Shefflin contributed 0-16 between them to propel 2014 winenrs Ballyhale back into the final.

In the first semi-final tie, O’Loughlin Gaels reached the decider with a 2-13 to 0-16 success against Rower-Inistioge. The city club lost last year’s final and are chasing a first title since 2010.

First half goals from Martin Comerford and Alan Geoghegan proved crucial as they went in front 2-5 to 0-8 at the break. Darragh Joyce, who is shortly moving to embark on an AFL career, shot 0-10 for a Rower-Inistioge team that just fell short.

In Wexford, Oulart-the-Ballagh’s remarkable run continued as they were crowned county senior champions for the 10th time in 13 years.

They saw off Cloughbawn at Innovate Wexford Park by 0-17 to 1-11 with new manager Davy Fitzgerald amongst those in attendance.

Davy Fitzgerald Donall Farmer / INPHO New Wexford boss Davy Fitzgerald Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Cloughbawn were chasing a first title since 1993 and they were in front 0-7 to 0-6 at the interval. Harry Kehoe grabbed 0-7 for them overall but Oulart’s scoring power proved crucial with Rory Jacob hitting 0-6, Nicky Kirwan scoring 0-4 and Des Mythen chipping in with 0-2. A late goal from Cloughbawn’s Michael Kehoe could not prevent Oulart triumphing again.

‘The way I felt treated and probably betrayed was unreal’ – Davy Fitzgerald on his critics

History makers! O’Rourke stars as Carbery Rangers clinch first Cork senior football title

Your Voice
Readers Comments