Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Thursday 13 May 2021

Henry and TJ help Ballyhale reach last four as De La Salle avoid Waterford relegation

There were also county hurling finals today in Laois, Kerry, Antrim and Down.

Henry Shefflin and TJ Reid were central to Ballyhale's victory.
Henry Shefflin and TJ Reid were central to Ballyhale's victory.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

TJ REID AND Henry Shefflin were central to ensuring reigning All-Ireland club champions Ballyhale Shamrocks progressed into the last four of the Kilkenny SHC today with a 3-17 to 0-16 win over Fenians.

Reid hit 2-3 and Shefflin bagged 0-8 while Colin Fennelly struck 1-2 to help Ballyhale win by ten points. The goals were central to Ballyhale’s success as they went in front 3-8 to 0-12 early in the second-half and they pulled clear from there.

Mullinavat moved into the Kilkenny last four stage with a 0-18 to 0-12 win over Rower-Inistioge in their quarter-final today while Clara won their tie by 0-12 to 1-5 against Erins Own last night.

The remaining quarter-final will see Dicksboro, first round replay winners over Danesfort yesterday, face O’laughlin Gaels.

There was relief for De La Salle, 2008 and 2010 Munster club kingpins, as they avoided Waterford SHC relegation today with a 1-18 to 1-12 win over Lismore in today’s final.

An Eddie Meaney goal was key in securing the victory for De La Salle who were in front 0-12 to 0-3 at the break, and the city club avoid dropping down to the intermediate ranks.

Clough-Ballacolla were crowned Laois SHC champions today with a 0-20 to 1-14 success against Camross. Stephen Maher hit 0-12 for the winners who had trailed 1-9 to 0-6 at the interval.

Kilmoyley atoned for last year’s final loss to win the Kerry SHC final today and secure a first title since 2009 with a 3-15 to 1-13 success over St Brendan’s.

A Daniel Collins goal helped Kilmoyley lead 1-10 to 0-6 at the break in Abbeydorney. Collins who, finished with 2-10 overall, netted again in the second-half as did Micheal Regan for the winners.

Darren Wallace raised a green flag for St Brendan’s and John Egan struck 0-8 but Kilmoyley deservedly triumphed.

Ruairí Óg Cushendall retained their Antrim SHC title with a 2-16 to 1-15 final win over Ballycastle MacQuillans today. It was a remarkable victory for Cushendall after they trailed by 1-11 to 0-5 at the interval, Saul McCaughan grabbing Ballycastle’s first-half goal.

But goals from Shane McNaughton and Eoghan Campbell inspired Cushendall in the second-half and the teams were level at 2-11 to 1-14 entering the finale. Neal McManus was to the fore as Cushendall outscored their opponents by 0-5 to 0-1 to seal victory.

Ballycran were crowned Down SHC champions with a 1-15 to 0-16 final win over Ballygalget. Ballycran trailed 0-11 to 0-6 at the break but hit 1-4 in the last ten minutes to take the spoils.

There’ll be new Limerick and Munster senior club hurling champions this year

Horgan shoots Glen Rovers into Cork senior hurling final with win over Midleton

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel