Dublin: 15°C Monday 20 September 2021

Blackrock hit 4-26 in extra-time win over Glen Rovers and end 18-year Cork senior hurling title wait

A first senior crown for the Rockies since 2002.

Blackrock's Michael O'Halloran and Cathal Cormack liftt the trophy.
Blackrock's Michael O'Halloran and Cathal Cormack liftt the trophy.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Blackrock 4-26
Glen Rovers 4-18

(After extra-time)

A LONG SPELL of frustration was wiped away by Blackrock under the Páirc Uí Chaoimh floodlights today as they returned to the peak of Cork hurling after an extraordinarily high-scoring final.

Just like their semi-final success last week, Blackrock dug this one out in normal time when they looked to be on the cusp of heartbreak. 

And again it was Alan Connolly who was their saviour when he knocked over a free, albeit from a more routine position on this occasion, as they pegged back Glen Rovers to leave it 3-14 to 1-20. Moments previously it looked as if Patrick Horgan was about to be crowned the Glen hero when he snapped over the point that edged them ahead.

Blackrock capitalised on that opportunity presented to them in extra-time with substitutes Robbie Cotter, Alan O’Callaghan and Tadhg Deasy all providing a vital scoring touch. That trio struck a combined tally of 3-5 when introduced. Shane O’Keeffe netted also in extra-time while Connolly finished as top scorer with 0-13.

It marked dejection at the final hurdle for the second successive year for Glen Rovers, Cork captain Horgan firing 1-12 but it could not prevent them succumbing to their city rivals. Simon Kennefick notched a pair of brilliant goals in the second half of normal time yet they could not repel the Blackrock onslaught early in extra-time as they fired 2-4 without reply.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

patrick-horgan-and-daniel-meaney Patrick Horgan in action against Daniel Meaney. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Glen Rovers mounted a response with talisman Horgan cutting the gap to three points as he struck 1-2, all from placed balls when he had been fouled himself.

Yet any lingering Blackrock nerves were eased when Cotter cut through to slam home a 79th minute goal and a pair of converted Connolly frees soon after sealed a famous triumph.

It was a riveting game with both sets of players producing quality passages of play despite a howling gale blowing down towards the Blackrock End. The elements were in Blackrock’s favour at the interval and they enjoyed a 0-12 to 0-7 advantage at that juncture. Connolly looked sharp, Michael O’Halloran also threatened while Niall Cashman was highly influential with his defensive play.

blackrock-celebrate-with-the-trophy Blackrock players celebrate in Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

It was impressive stuff considering Blackrock endured an anxious start when Glen rattled off three opening points. 

And it was Glen who enjoyed the more productive start to the second half as well with Kennefick hitting those two goals, the first a particularly brilliant strike and both set up charges out of defence by Steven McDonnell.

The action ebbed and flowed from here. Deasy sprinted clear to bang in a 39th minute goal, Mark Dooley replied before the second water break for Glen Rovers after Liam Coughlan rattled the bar, seized the rebound and offloaded to Dooley.

The teams traded points in the final quarter, the Horgan and Connolly exchange the most critical efforts. Blackrock composed themselves and produced a spell that won the game as extra-time opened.

Cotter and O’Keeffe raised green flags with the Blackrock team producing some terrific attacking play. The Glen rally could not alter the outcome, the trophy heading to a traditional home on the southside of Cork city.

Scorers for Blackrock: Alan Connolly 0-13 (0-10f), Robbie Cotter 2-2, Tadhg Deasy (0-1 sideline), Shane O’Keeffe 1-1 each, Niall Cashman, Daniel Meaney, Michael O’Halloran, Alan O’Callaghan 0-2 each, John O’Sullivan 0-1.

Scorers for Glen Rovers: Patrick Horgan 1-12 (0-6f, 1-0 pen, 0-2 ’65), Simon Kennefick 2-0, Mark Dooley 1-2, Adam O’Donovan 0-2, Liam Coughlan, Dean Brosnan 0-1 each.


1. Gavin Connolly

2. Richie Laide
4. Jamie Ryan
3. Gary Norberg

7. Stephen Murphy
5. Cathal Cormack
6. Niall Cashman

8. Daniel Meaney
9. David O’Farrell

10. Mark O’Keeffe
11. Ciaran Cormack
15. John O’Sullivan

13. Michael O’Halloran
12. Shane O’Keeffe
14. Alan Connolly


Tadhg Deasy for Mark O’Keeffe (38)
John Cashman for Laide (38)
Robbie Cotter for Ciaran Cormack (52)
Alan O’Callaghan for Ryan (52)
Kevin O’Keeffe for O’Sullivan (60)
Eoin O’Farrell for David O’Farrell (69)
Mark O’Keeffe for O’Halloran (76)
David O’Shea for Connolly (80)

Glen Rovers

1. Cathal Hickey

2. Stephen McDonnell
5. Robert Downey
3. David Dooling

4. Adam Lynch
6. Brian Moylan
7. David Noonan

8. Donal Cronin
9. Adam O’Donovan

10. Dean Brosnan
11. Patrick Horgan
12. Mark Dooley

13. Conor Dorris
14. Simon Kennefick
15. Liam Coughlan


David Cunnigham for Dorris (42)
Dale Tynan for Brosnan (55)
Luke Horgan for Cronin (58)
Glenn Kennefick for Coughlan (70)
Brosnan for Tynan (70)

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Aghada)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel