This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 18 December, 2018

Clare footballers book their spot in Munster semi-final after edging out Limerick

The Banner will take on Kerry in a fortnight’s time.

Clare's Jamie Malone and Ian Corbett of Limerick.
Clare's Jamie Malone and Ian Corbett of Limerick.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Clare 1-13
Limerick 1-12

Declan Rooney reports from Cusack Park

CLARE DOMINATED THEIR neighbours Limerick to reach the Munster semi-final, but they were left sweating at the death after a goal from Josh Ryan closed the winning margin to a point.

Sean McSweeney could have levelled it for Limerick moments later, but his shot drifted wide and Clare held on to set up a last-four clash with Kerry in a fortnight’s time.

The key score of the first half arrived after 10 minutes when Jamie Malone picked out Eoin Cleary with a measured long kick-pass. Limerick’s Johnny McCarthy narrowly failed to cut it out, and Cleary rounded Donal O’Sullivan to make it 1-3 to 0-1.

With Clare the physically dominant side, Limerick worked the majority of their kick-outs short to the corner-backs. After some patient play up the field, they managed to settle themselves thanks to points form Danny Neville and Ger Collins.

Clare were dangerous on the counter-attack though and Keelan Sexton twice finished off flowing moves from deep, while Limerick’s slack passing also cost them scores.

David Ward could have drawn Limerick level in the 22nd minute but he pulled his shot wide of goal, and at the other end a brilliant save from Donal O’Sullivan denied Sexton after he crept in behind the Limerick cover.

But the Banner men were good value for their 1-8 to 0-6 half-time lead, and when Cleary added another score straight after the restart they opened up a six-point advantage.

Cormac Reilly issues a yellow card to David Ward Referee Cormac Reilly issues a yellow card to Limerick's David Ward. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

But the following 15 minutes were poor as Clare kicked four wides while Limerick had three before Danny Neville found the next score.

That jolted both teams out of the malaise and Tubridy kicked a great score from the left to restore Clare’s cushion. At the other end, Sean O’De roamed up field to point for Limerick.

And while O’Carroll and Corbett kicked two in a row for Limerick and Josh Ryan hit a quick 1-1 when he moved into full-forward, Clare held on to take the precious win.

Scorers for Clare: E Cleary 1-4 (2f), D Tubridy 0-4 (2f), K Sexton 0-3 (1f), S Collins 0-1, P Lillis 0-1

Scorers for Limerick: J Ryan 1-1, S O’Carroll 0-3 (1’sl), G Collins 0-2 (1f), D Neville 0-2, J Naughton 0-1, D Tracey 0-1, I Corbett 0-1, S O’Dea 0-1.


1 Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)

6 Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s)
3 Kevin Harnett (Meelick)
4 Martin McMahon (Kilmurray Ibrickane)

5 Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
2 Dean Ryan (Eire Og)
7 John Hayes (Kilrush Shamrocks)

8 Gary Brennan (c) (Clondegad)
12 Shane Brennan (Clondegad)

9 Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
11 Sean Collins (Cratloe)
10 Jamie Malone (Corofin)

13 Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s)
14 David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15 Keelan Sexton (Kilmurray Ibrickane)


26 Ciaran Russell (Eire Og) for Malone (34-37 blood),
21 Liam Markham (Cratloe) for O’Connor (61)
25 Gearoid O’Brien (St Joseph’s) for Collins (66)
23 Seanie Malone (St Joseph’s) for Tubridy (71)
24 Darren Nagle (Liscannor) for Harnett (72)


1 Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)

2 Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys)
3 Johnny McCarthy (St Kieran’s)
4 Séan O’Dea (Kilteely Dromkeen)

5 Paul White (Rathkeale)
7 Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)
12 Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher Broadford)

8 Darragh Tracey (St Kieran’s)
9 David Ward (Fr Casey’s)

10 Peter Nash (Kildimo Pallaskenry)
11 James Naughton (St Senan’s)
6 Iain Corbett (c) (Newcastlewest)

13 Seamus O’Carroll (Castleknock)
14 Danny Neville (Ballysteen)
15 Ger Collins (Monaleem).


21 Josh Ryan (Oola) for Ward (47)
22 Sean McSweeney (St Kieran’s) for Nash (52)
19 Jamie Lee (Newcastlewest) for Naughton (57)
17 Tony McCarthy (Kildimo Pallaskenry) for Daly (61)
20 Padraig Scanlon (Glin) for Collins (64),
18 Padraig Quinn (Monaleen) for O’Carroll (68)

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Impressive Galway back up league final win with 14-point defeat of disappointing Dublin

Davy Fitz watches his side cruise past Laois from the stand to book semi-final date with the Cats

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: