All-Ireland hurling finalists Ballyea dumped out in Clare, while Cork champions also bow out

There will be no repeat of last season for Tony Kelly or Patrick Horgan.

Tony Kelly dejected at the end of the game Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO


2016 ALL-IRELAND club finalists Ballyea fell to Newmarket by 1-16 to 1-12 in the Clare senior hurling quarter-final at Cusack Park this evening.

After a wonderful  2016/17 club campaign that ended in St Patrick’s Day defeat to Cuala, Ballyea have made an early exit in Clare this time around.

Niall Deasy hit an early goal for the reigning county and Munster champions, who found themselves 1-8 to 1-5 behind at half-time.

They were four behind in the closing stages when Tony Kelly saw a late penalty saved by Newmarket goalkeeper Ronan McCormack.

Newmarket are joined in the last eight by 2015 champions Sixmilebridge who defeated Podge Collins and Cratloe earlier in the day.

Brian Corry’s first-half goal left the Bridge leading by seven points at the interval and further three-pointers from Gavin Whyte and Alan Mulready arrived after the restart.

Cathal McInerney hit a consolation goal for Cratloe, leaving Sixmilebridge deserved 3-18 to 1-13 winners.

In the third game of the day, Clooney/Quin booked their semi-final place with a 3-14 to 2-12 victory over Eire Óg.

On Sunday, Clonlara and Tulla square off for the fourth semi-final spot in Cusack Park at 5pm.


Meanwhile in the Cork senior hurling Round 4, reigning champions Glen Rovers suffered a narrow 1-12 to 0-14 defeat to Na Piarsaigh tonight.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Na Piarsaigh will now advance to face Bandon in the quarter-final of the competition they last won in 2004.

Shane Forde’s cracking finish handed Na Piarsaigh a 1-7 to 0-5 interval lead, but a couple of Horgan frees and a wonderful sideline cut brought Glen Rovers back into contention.

Conor Dorries levelled the game with ten minutes to go but a late Padraig Guest free won it for the three-time Cork champions.


Finally in Tyrone Killyclogher were dethroned by Pomeroy in the first round of the football championship today.

Killyclogher, who were without the injured county star Tiernan McCann, won by 1-9 to 0-7 with John Loughran scoring the goal.

2015 champions Trillick and 2016 finalists Coalisland are also into the quarter-finals after their wins over Strabane and Galbally respectively.

‘There’s no reason to leave’: Tyrone’s Conor McKenna eager to stay in the AFL

Limerick hurling on the rise, Gillane’s impressive scoring form and disappointing Kilkenny challenge

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel