Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO John Conlon was on target for Clare this evening (file pic).
# Winning
Conlon nets as Clare hurlers continue unbeaten run with victory over Laois
It was far from enlightening hurling but the Banner achieved their primary objective.

Clare 1-21
Laois 0-16

Eoin Brennan reports from O’Moore Park

CLARE’S UNBEATEN START to 2016 was extended this evening as they held off the challenge of hosts Laois to protect their lead at the top of the Division 1B table.

It was far from enlightening hurling but the Banner achieved their primary objective nonetheless as they led from start to finish amidst 14 wides from both sides to record their third successive victory in the campaign.

Undoubtedly, John Conlon’s first half injury-time goal proved to be the decisive score as he seized on Bobby Duggan’s high delivery to flick the ball past goalkeeper Enda Rowland on their way to a 1-13 to 0-09 interval cushion.

Duggan himself took up the freetaking mantle from Colin Ryan and arrowed over six long range efforts to ensure that they kept the home side at arm’s length in a scrappy second half.

Substitute PJ Scully and Charlie Dwyer had Laois’ best chance of a lifeline goal but both would be dealt with by goalkeeper Andrew Fahey as Clare did enough to see out the win ahead of two remaining home ties against Kerry and Limerick in the next fortnight.

Scorers for Clare: Bobby Duggan 0-6 (6f); John Conlon 1-2; Colin Ryan 0-5 (1f, 1’65); David Reidy 0-3; Aaron Cunningham 0-2; Gearoid O’Connell, Conor Ryan, Cathal O’Connell  0-1 each

Scorers for Laois: Zane Keenan 0-5 (4f); Willie Hyland, PJ Scully (2f) 0-3 each; Charlie Dwyer 0-2; Leigh Bergin, Stephen Maher, Enda Rowland (’65) 0-1 each


1. Andrew Fahey (Whitegate)

4. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
2. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)

5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
6. David McInerney (Tulla)
7. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)

8. David Reidy (Éire Óg)
9. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)

10. John Conlon (Clonlara)
11. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
19. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea)

13. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones)
14. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
12. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)


20. Colm Galvin (Clonlara) for Cleary (Half-Time)
17. Oisin O’Brien (Clonlara) for Dillon (48, inj)
22. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara) for G. O’Connell (58)
21. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Galvin (63, inj)
24. Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen) for S. O’Donnell (68)
23. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley) for Reidy (70)


1. Enda Rowland (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix)

4. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)
6. Neil Foyle (Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton)
2. Joe Phelan (Camross)

5. Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe)
8. Matthew Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton)
7. Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)

9. Ciaran Cotter (Camross)
12. Patrick Purcell (Rathdowney Errill)

10. Charlie Dwyer (Ballinakill)
14. Zane Keenan (Camross)
17. Tom Delaney (Clough/Ballacolla)

15. Ross King (Rathdowney/Errill)
11. Willie Hyland (Clough/Ballacolla)
13. Stephen Maher (Clough/Ballacolla)


22. PJ Scully (Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton) for King (21)
24. Willie Dunphy (Clough/Ballacolla) for Maher (57)
20. John Walsh (Ballinakill) for Bergin (62)
26. Colm Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton) for Foyle (62)

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

14-man Dublin come from eight points down to clinch victory over Cork>

Dublin confirm that Jack McCaffrey will miss championship as he heads to Africa>

Your Voice
Readers Comments