Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Friday 23 April 2021

Incredible drama as Clonmel win first Munster title with stoppage-time goal

Michael Quinlivan the hero as Commercials snatch historic win at the death.

Clonmel captain Kevin Harney leads the celebrations.
Clonmel captain Kevin Harney leads the celebrations.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Clonmel Commercials 1-7

Nemo Rangers 0-9

MICHAEL QUINLIVAN STRUCK for a 62nd-minute goal as Clonmel Commercials became the first Tipperary club to win the Munster Club SFC on Sunday.

In a tense and tight battle at Mallow, Cork’s Nemo Rangers looked to have secured their 16th provincial title when points from Paul Kerrigan and Jack Horgan put them two points clear as injury time dawned.

However, there was time for one last Clonmel attack when a free was won around midfield. When Aldo Matassa’s delivery wasn’t dealt with by the Nemo defence, the ball fell to Quinlivan who created just enough room for a shot, which crept past the grasp of Micheál Martin and just inside the post.

It was a famous victory for Clonmel, who stayed with their opponents all through, with the sides level on five occasions during the game. Having fallen behind to points by Paul Kerrigan and James Masters, Clonmel responded through captain Kevin Harney and Quinlivan and the sides traded scores from there to half-time, going in at 0-5 each.

Clonmel had a great start to the second half, with Quinlivan nailing a 45 to put them ahead for the first time and then converting a long-range free as the game became a war of attrition.

Aidan OÕReilly and Michael Quinlivan Aidan O'Reilly and Michael Quinlivan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kerrigan finally opened Nemo’s second-half account in the 45th minute and he was desperately unlucky not to goal immediately after, his shot rolling past the post.

They did draw level through a Luke Connolly free and then looked to have seized the momentum with the late scores from Kerrigan and Horgan. From there, it appeared that they couldn’t be beaten but Quinlivan and Clonmel had other ideas.

Scorers for Clonmel Commercials: Michael Quinlivan 1-3 (0-2 45, 0-1 free), Jack Kennedy, Aldo Matassa, Kevin Harney, Jason Lonergan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Paul Kerrigan 0-3, James Masters 0-2 (0-1 free), Jack Horgan, David Niblock, Luke Connolly (0-1 free), David O’Donovan 0-1 each.


1. Jack McDonald

4. Jamie Peters

3. Donal Lynch

2. Fergal Condon

10. Luke Moore

7. Kevin Fahey

13. Kevin Harney

8. Jack Kennedy

9. Aldo Matassa

15. Pádraig White

12. Jason Lonergan

11. Ian Fahey

24. John Harney

14. Michael Quinlivan

6. Séamus Kennedy


17. Ian Barnes for John Harney (40)

18. Pádraig Looram for Jack Kennedy (43)

5. Danny Madigan for White (47)

19. Eoin Fitzgerald for Ian Fahey (59)


1. Micheál Martin

2. Aidan O’Reilly

3. Ciarán O’Shea

19. David O’Donovan

5. Kevin Fulignati

6. Tomás Ó Sé

7. Alan O’Donovan

8. David Niblock

9. Michael Dorgan

15. Colin O’Brien

12. Paul Kerrigan

10. Dylan Mehigan

17. James Masters

11. Barrry O’Driscoll

14. Conor Horgan


13. Luke Connolly for Mehigan (half-time)

23. Ciarán Dalton for Horgan (39)

21. Peter Morgan for Dorgan (45)

25. William Morgan for Masters (50)

24. Jack Horgan for O’Brien (53)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

As it happened: Nemo v Commercials, Cuala v Oulart – GAA club tracker

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel