Dublin: 2°C Sunday 28 November 2021

Galway All-Ireland U21 winning captain set to start first senior game in 17 months

Colin Forde is a welcome return for the Tribesmen.

Colin Forde captained Galway to win the All-Ireland U21 title in 2011.
Colin Forde captained Galway to win the All-Ireland U21 title in 2011.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

GALWAY’S 2011 ALL-Ireland U21 winning football captain Colin Forde is set for his first start for the county’s senior side in 17 months after being named on the team that will start next Sunday’s FBD League game against Leitrim in Mohill.

Forde has been named at left corner-back after coming on as a substitute in last Sunday’s win over Sligo in Enniscrone. The Killererin defender last started for Galway in their All-Ireland qualifier round 2 victory over Waterford in July 2013.

Last year Forde moved to London to take up a position as a physiotherapist in a hospital in London but he is now back involved with the Tribesmen for 2015 under new manager Kevin Walsh.

Galway have made 12 changes for Sunday’s game from the team that defeated Sligo. The squad’s Corofin players are now back preparing for their All-Ireland senior club semi-final against St Vincent’s after Gary Sice, Liam Silke and Ian Burke had all played for Galway last Sunday.

Gareth Bradshaw, Fiontáin Ó Curraoin and Enda Tierney are the only three players to retain their places from last Sunday’s win with established players like Gary O’Donnell, Shane Walsh and Danny Cummins all back into the starting team.


1. Manus Breathnach (Spiddal)

2. Tomas Fahy (Killererin)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
4. Colin Forde Killererin)

5. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)
6. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
7. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)

8. Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach)
9. Enda Tierney (Oughterard)

10. Cathal Sweeney (Killannin)
11. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin Clonberne)
12. Martin Coady (Oughterard)

13. Oisin O’Brien (Caherlistrane)
14. Patrick Sweeney (Killannin)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)

2 key Tipp hurling defenders to miss league but there’s 8 new additions to squad

10 key proposals for the future of minor players in the GAA

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: