Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Saturday 31 October 2020

No Hallowe'en scare as Connacht continue brilliant Pro12 start against Edinburgh

Tiernan O’Halloran scored the only try in a tight win.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Connacht 14

Edinburgh 9

IN-FORM CONNACHT claimed a fifth Guinness Pro12 win in six games when edging a tight battle with Edinburgh at the Sportsground.

Connacht’s success was achieved courtesy of a gutsy performance as Pat Lam’s charges maintained their impressive start to the campaign.

Earlier Connacht matches in the competition had been sprinkled with style and tries, but this was all about Connacht’s grit against a well organised Edinburgh outfit.

Encouraged by their smashing Autumn so far Connacht were sharp initially as Jack Carty slotted a penalty before the home team crossed for a gorgeous 11th minute try.

Carty and Matt Healy were involved crafting an opportunity that was brilliantly taken by full back Tiernan O’Haloran, who touched down.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne responded with a 17th minute penalty for the defiant visitors’, who were frustrating the locals, especially at scrum time.

As the interval approached Blair Kinghorn nailed a splendid 38th minute penalty for Edinburgh as the interval gap was narrowed to 8-6.

Five minutes after the restart Carty slotted a routine penalty following a decent burst of Connacht pressure.

Hidalgo Clyne and Carty traded penalties as Connacht led 14-9 by the 56th minute as Edinburgh continued to work diligently.

In the closing stages Carty missed two late penalties, but Connacht bravely held on to record another fine victory.

Scorers for Connacht: Tiernan O’Halloran try; Jack Carty 3 penalties

Scorers for Edinburgh: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne 2 penalties; Blair Kinghorn penalty


15.Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Darragh Leader
13. Bundee Aki
12. Craig Ronaldson
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Aly Muldowney
5. Andrew Browne
6. John Muldoon (c)
7. Nepia Fox-Matamua
8. Eoghan Masterson


18. Nathan White for Ah You (48 mins)
19. Quin Roux for Muldowney (48 mins)
20. Eoin McKeon for Masterson (63 mins)
21. Ian Porter for Marmion (70 mins)
16. Dave Heffernan for McCartney (72 mins)
23. Niyi Adeolokun for O’Halloran (72 mins)
17. Finlay Bealham for Buckley (74 mins)
4. Aly Muldowney for Roux (75 mins)


15. Blair Kinghorn
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Sam Beard
11. Will Helu
10. Phil Burleigh
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Rory Sutherland
2. Neil Cochrane
3. John Andress
4. Anton Bresler
5. Fraser McKenzie
6. Mike Coman
7. Roddy Grant
8. Nasi Manu


23. Nick McLennan for Kinghorn (41 mins)
20. Cornell Du Preez for Manu (47 mins)
19. Alex Toolis for Bressler (63 mins)
22. Dougie Fife for Burleigh (68 mins)
16. George Turner for Cochrane (68 mins)
17. Allan Dell for Andress (68 mins)
18. Simon Berghan for Sutherland (68 mins)

Referee: Leighton Hodges (WRU).

The Kiwi legends deliver, Wallaby woe and more RWC talking points

Holy SBW! Sonny Bill just offloaded his World Cup medal to this lucky kid

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel