Lam rings changes as he bids farewell to Sportsground

There are welcome returns to action for Marnitz Boshoff, Darragh Leader and Cian Kelleher.

CONNACHT’S CHAMPIONSHIP WINNING head coach Pat Lam has his focus fixed on next month’s European Champions Cup play-offs and has made 10 changes to his team for tomorrow’s meeting with Scarlets (TG4, 19.35).

Marnitz Boshoff Boshoff. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Among the raft of changes, there is a welcome return to the number 10 jersey for Marnitz Boshoff. Darragh Leader and Cian Kelleher also return to an exciting back three after long spells out injured.

After making his 300th appearance for his province against Leinster, John Muldoon is among the replacements with Sean O’Brien, Jake Heenan and Eoghan Masterson forming a potent back row.

“With Champions Cup being our main focus, the next two games present a great opportunity to prepare for the qualification playoffs in May,” said Lam who, along with backs coach Conor McPhillips, will depart the province for Bristol this summer.

John Muldoon and Pat Lam Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

“It allows us to give guys coming back from long-term injuries a chance to perform against a quality Scarlets side.

“Tomorrow night is our last Pro12 game at home and as always, we will be looking to put in a huge effort for us and our supporters who have been fantastic all season.”


15 Tiernan O’Halloran
14 Darragh Leader
13 Tom Farrell
12 Eoin Griffin
11 Cian Kelleher
10 Marnitz Boshoff
9 Caolin Blade

1 Finlay Bealham
2 Dave Heffernan
3 Dominic Robertson-McCoy
4 James Cannon
5 Andrew Browne Capt
6 Sean O’Brien
7 Jake Heenan
8 Eoghan Masterson


16 Shane Delahunt
17 Denis Buckley
18 JP Cooney
19 Quinn Roux
20 John Muldoon
21 John Cooney
22 Craig Ronaldson
23 Danie Poolman


15 Johnny Mcnicholl
14 Liam Williams
13 Jonathan Davies
12 Hadleigh Parkes
11 Steff Evans
10 Rhys Patchell
9 Jonathan Evans

1 Rob Evans
2 Ken Owens Capt.
3 Samson Lee
4 Jake Ball
5 Tadhg Beirne
6 Aaron Shingler
7 Will Boyde
8 John Barclay


16. Ryan Elias
17. Wyn Jones
18. Werner Kruger
19. David Bulbring
20. Josh Macleod
21. Gareth Davies
22. Scott Williams
23. DTH van der Merwe

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

McCloskey starts as Ulster face make or break trip to Ospreys

‘I just hope I left the odd mark along the way’ – Coughlan retires from rugby

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.