This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Galway grab late Connacht minor draw against Sligo as Derry claim Ulster title

It’s been a busy day of minor football action.

Ryan Forde and Michael Gordon battle it out for possession.
Ryan Forde and Michael Gordon battle it out for possession.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Connacht MFC final

Galway 0-7
Sligo 1-4

Declan Rooney reports from Dr Hyde Park

CILLIAN MCDAID KICKED a late leveller to rescue Galway this afternoon and force a replay of the Connacht minor football final against Sligo.

The Tribesmen kicked the last three points of the game and they could have won it in added-time but McDaid’s free feel short. The sides will meet again next Saturday in the replay at Tuam Stadium to decide this year’s champions.

Sligo were 1-2 to 0-3 in front at the break but Galway were the cause of their own downfall.

The shot nine wides in the first-half – and 15 in total – as they couldn’t take advantage of the breeze at their backs.

Colm O Braonain and Finian O Laoi gave them a 0-2 to 0-0 lead but Liam Gaughan kicked Sligo’s first in the 13th minute.

O Laoi struck another but Gaughan doubled his tally from a free before O’Connor got Sligo’s goal when Ronan O Beolain let the ball in under his body.

Sean Carrabine with Sean Kelly Sean Carrabine with Sean Kelly Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Points from man of the match Liam Gaughan and Darragh Cummins looked to have giuven Sligo the cushion they needed, but they failed to score in the last 23 minutes play as Galway launched their comeback.

Eric Lee’s 45 and a great individual effort from O Braonain reduced the gap to a point, which set it up for McDaid to force the replay late on.

Liam Gaughan with John Daly Liam Gaughan with John Daly Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Finian O Laoi 0-3; Colm O’Braonain 0-2; Eric Lee 0-1, Cillian McDaid 0-1.

Scorers for Sligo: Patrick O’Connor 1-0, Liam Gaughan 0-3 (0-2f); Darragh Cummins 0-1.


1. Ronan O Beolain (Micheal Breathnach)

4. Ian Kent (Bearna)
3. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
2. Caelan Mulry (Monivea Abbey)

5. Sean Kelly (Moycullen)
6. Liam O Cellaigh (An Spideal)
7. John Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)

8. Colm O Braonain (Oileain Arainn)
9. Cillian McDaid (Monivea Abbey)

10. Eric Lee (Oughterard)
11. Conor Marsden (Kilconly)
12. Finnian O Laoi (An Spideal)

15. Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)
14. Michael Boyle (Killererin)
17. Ciaran Brady (Corofin)

13. Colin Ryan (Mountbellew/Moylough) for C Marsden (36)
22. Paudie McCormack (An Cheathru Rua) for M Boyle (55)
19. Eamon Conroy (Salthill/Knocknacarra) for C Brady (55)

Nathan Rooney with Dylan McHugh Nathan Rooney with Dylan McHugh Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Eamonn Kilgannon (St Farnan’s)

2. Brian Mahon (Owenmore Gaels)
3. Eddie McGuinness (Tubbercurry)
4. Mark O’Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass)

5. Nathan Mullen (Coolaney/Mullinabreena)
6. Finnian Cawley (St Farnan’s)
7. Sean Power (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)

8. Darragh Cummins (Calry/St Joseph’s)
9. Paul Kilcoyne (St Mary’s)

10. Liam Gaughan (Tourlestrane)
11. Nathan Rooney (St Mary’s)
12. Sean Carrabine (Castleconnor)

13. Kyle Cawley (St Mary’s)
14. Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s)
15. Michael Gordon (Easkey)

17. Aaron Kearns (Curry) for B Mahon (35)
19. Cathal Herron (St Molaise Gaels) for S Carrabine (38)
21. Kevin Banks for (Coolera/Strandhill) for P Kilcoyne (54)
22. Rian Kennedy (Tourlestrane) for L Gaughan (56)
Alan McLoughlin (St Molaise Gaels) for K Cawley (60)

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Derry players celebrate winning Derry players celebrate their victory. Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Ulster MFC final

Derry 1-11
Cavan 0-11

DERRY WERE CROWNED Electric Ireland Ulster minor football champions with a three-point win over Cavan this afternoon in Clones.

Derry laid the foundations for their win in the opening period with Tiarnan Flanagan hitting the only goal of the game.

Man-of-the-match Shane McGuigan starred for Derry while Patrick Kearney also shone in the scoring stakes.

Derry surged 1-8 to 0-5 clear at the break and despite a Cavan fightback with Darragh Gannon, Dillon Raythorne and David Brady all striking points, Derry held on for success.

Shane McGuigan and Donal Monahan Derry's Shane McGuigan and Cavan's Donal Monahan. Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 0-5, Tiernan Flanagan 1-0, Patrick Kearney 0-3, Conor Glass, Shea Downey, Barry Grant 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cavan: Darragh Gannon (0-2f), Dillon Raythorne 0-3 each, David Brady (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Conor Smith 0-2 each, Tom Donohoe 0-1.

Donegal undone by spirit of The Clones Crocodile, according to RTÉ commentary

Monaghan withstand late Donegal comeback to earn dramatic Ulster victory

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: