This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 20 November, 2018

Horgan the hero with 0-15 as Cork edge Tipp to clinch quarter-final spot

Kieran Kingston’s Rebels finish second in 1A after a one-point win against Tipperary.

Close encounter: Kieran Bergin puts Colm Spillane under pressure.
Close encounter: Kieran Bergin puts Colm Spillane under pressure.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 0-26

Tipperary 3-16

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

PATRICK HORGAN WAS the Cork hero as his 15th point, in the 74th minute, earned victory over All-Ireland champions Tipperary at Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday afternoon, securing second place in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League.

The Rebels looked to have done enough for the win when Horgan made it 0-24 to 2-15 with time almost up but Séamus Callanan’s kicked goal levelled matters for Tipp.

Horgan put Cork in front again only for sub Ronan Maher to send over a sideline cut for Tipp, but there was still time for one more Cork attack and Horgan made the most of it.

With the wind behind them, Cork impressed for large parts of the first half, but the concession of two late goals meant that their half-time lead was just two points, a margin which also would have been greater but for 13 home wides.

While the first 10 points were evenly shared, Cork then reeled off four in a row, through Darragh Fitzgibbon – an early sub for Conor Lehane – and three Patrick Horgan frees. While Tipp had a response through Callanan’s third free, Cork eased further clear as Horgan added two more frees and Alan Cadogan notched a smart point.

That left them 0-12 to 0-6 ahead with three minutes of normal time remaining, but then Tipp struck for a goal through Callanan, after Damien Cahalane had initially done well to block a John McGrath shot.

Seamus Callanan Seamus Callanan finished with 2-6 but it wasn't enough to give Tipp the win. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork replied with a Séamus Harnedy point, but Tipp raised another green flag as Callanan laid off Dan McCormack’s delivery to John McGrath, who finished high to the net.

Fitzgibbon was on target for his third to leave it 0-14 to 2-6 at half-time and Harnedy, Fitzgibbon and Horgan moved them five clear on the resumption.

A Tipp run of scores saw them score eight of the next nine points though, Callanan prominent with sub Noel McGrath also making his presence felt. Callanan’s sixth put them two in front, 2-14 to 0-18, on 54 minutes, but Cork refused to yield.

After sub Michael Cahalane and then Luke Meade were denied goals by Darren Gleeson, Horgan’s 65 put Cork back in front and, in a thrilling finale, Kieran Kingston’s side prevailed.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-15 (0-10 frees, 0-1 65), Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-5, Alan Cadogan, Séamus Harnedy 0-2 each, Luke Meade, Conor Lehane (0-1 free) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Séamus Callanan 2-6 (0-4 frees, 0-1 65), John McGrath 1-1, Dan McCormack, Pádraic Maher 0-2 each, Jason Forde, Paul Flynn, Ronan Maher (0-1 sideline) 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
9. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

25. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
14. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)


24. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville) for Lehane (6, injured)
20. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Brosnan (42)
23. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Cadogan (62)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
2. John Meagher (Loughmore-Casteiney)

5. Willie Ryan (Clonakenny)
6. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
7. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Seán Curran (Mullinahone)
9. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
15. Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)


24. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) for Curran (45)
20. Paul Flynn (Kiladangan) for Heffernan (45)
21. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Bergin (54)
25. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for O’Meara (62)
23. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) for Ryan (70)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

14-man Dublin head for relegation play-off despite pushing Kilkenny all the way in physical affair

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: