This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 15 December, 2018

1-10 for Colin O'Brien as Cork pip Galway to book All-Ireland U17 hurling final spot

There were two points in the difference at Semple Stadium.

A general view of Semple Stadium (fle pic).
A general view of Semple Stadium (fle pic).
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork 1-19

Galway 1-17

COLIN O’BRIEN SCORED 1-10 as Cork booked their place in the All-Ireland U17 hurling final with victory over Galway at Thurles on Thursday evening.

The Rebels’ centre-forward got the crucial goal just before half-time to give his side a 1-7 to 0-9 half-time lead and he was instrumental as they edged proceedings in the second half, responding to Niall Coen’s 56th-minute equalising goal.

While Cork were cruising early on, they couldn’t take full advantage of scoring opportunities. Though two Colin O’Brien frees put them 0-3 to 0-1 in front, Galway responded well through Conor Molloy (two) and Diarmuid O’Brien to take the lead.

With Molloy in excellent form from both open play and frees, Gaway began to take control, and but for a good Eoin Roche hook on Mark Kennedy, the Tribesmen might have had a goal on 15 minutes.

Two good Enda Egan points, one a sideline cut, helped Galway to lead by 0-9 to 0-6 as half-time approached but Cork were ahead by the break as O’Brien followed his fourth point with a goal from Brian Roche’s pass.

Cork would go scoreless in the first eight minutes of the second half though, during which time Galway forged ahead again, through Paul Creaven, sub John Fleming, Mark Kennedy and Molloy.

By the three-quarter mark, Cork were level again though and it was 1-12 to 0-15 when Declan Hanlon was fouled for a penalty. Though Darach Fahy saved from Daire Connery, the latter pointed the resultant 65 and O’Brien (free) and Brian Roche put Cork three clear. Molloy and Roche exchanged scores before Coen levelled again, firing to the net from Kennedy’s reverse handpass on 56.

Extra time loomed, but O’Brien converted two frees to give Cork daylight. Molloy gave Galway hope, but O’Brien had the final say, sending Cork into the final against Dublin.

Scorers for Cork: Colin O’Brien 1-10 (0-7 frees, 0-2 sidelines), Daire Connery 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 65), Tommy O’Connell, Blake Murphy, Brian Roche 0-2 each.

Scorers for Galway: Conor Molloy 0-9 (0-5 frees), Niall Coen 1-1, Enda Egan (0-1 sideline), John Fleming 0-2 each, Diarmuid O’Brien, Mark Kennedy, Paul Creaven 0-1 each.


1. Eoin Davis (St Catherine’s

2. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
3. Ciarán Nyhan (Ballinascarthy)
4. Ronan Sheehan (Mallow)

5. Cormac O’Brien (Newtownshandrum)
6. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtariffe)
7. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Liam Ryan (Inniscarra)

10. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
11. Colin O’Brien (Liscarroll Churchtown Gaels)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Owen McCarthy (Inniscarra)
14. Blake Murphy (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Declan Hanlon (Blarney)


20. Seán Twomey (Courcey Rovers) for Ryan (23)
23. Joe Stack (Castlemartyr) for McCarthy (39)
24. Shane Barrett (Blarney) for Hanlon (52)


1. Darach Fahy (Ardrahan)

2. Eoin O’Donnell (Ardrahan)
3. Simon Thomas (Ballygar)
4. TJ Brennan (Clarinbridge)

5. Dylan Shaughnessy (Loughrea)
6. Conor Lee (Clarinbridge)
7. David Jordan (Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry)

8. Diarmuid O’Brien (Ballygar)
9. Paul Creaven (Killimordaly)

12. Nathan Earner (Meelick-Eyrecourt)
11. Conor Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
10. Enda Egan (Michael Cusacks)

13. Mark Kennedy (Clarinbridge)
14. Jack Egan (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
15. Niall Coen (Ballindereen)


21. John Fleming (Meelick-Eyrecourt) for Jack Egan (half-time)
23. Caimin Kileen (Loughrea) for Enda Egan (51)
24. Mark Gill (Castlegar) for O’Brien (57)
17. Adam Clarke (Craughwell) for Gill (58-60, blood)

Referee: Alfie Devine (Westmeath)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Viktoria Plzeň’s new dugouts look absolutely delicious

Another sprint medal for Ireland’s youngsters as Adekele bags 200m European silver

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: