Dublin: 14°C Thursday 5 August 2021

Late drama as NUI Galway salvage draw to advance to quarter-finals at expense of Cork IT

NUIG will now face holders Mary Immaculate College.

Galway's Kevin McHugo scored two points.
Galway's Kevin McHugo scored two points.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cork IT 0-19

NUI Galway 0-19

MIDFIELDER IAN FOX was the NUI Galway hero as his late equaliser earned a Fitzgibbon quarter-final space at the expense of hosts Cork IT this evening.

This was a game that the visitors never led, but a superior scoring difference meant that a draw would be enough. While CIT hurled well for long periods, they had to play almost all of the encounter with 14 men following the second-minute sending-off of Colm Keane for an off-the-ball incident.

Despite that setback, the point-scoring of Tipperary star John O’Dwyer and Michael Kearney of Waterford meant that they led for all of the first half.

Though NUIG, for whom Ger Hennelly got all but one of the first-half points, came back to 0-10 to 0-8 by the 27th minute, O’Dwyer and Michael Cahalane ensured a four-point interval advantage for the home side.

Jerry O’Neill, Kearney and O’Dwyer eased them 0-15 to 0-8 clear within eight minutes of the restart but they would add just three more points.

NUIG began to push them back and Hennelly’s frees helped to reduce the deficit bit by bit before Kevin McHugo and then Fox brought them to within a goal.

While Cahalane and Kearney gave CIT breathing space again, NUIG were growing stronger and sub Conor Whelan made it 0-18 to 0-15 by the 54th minute.

Two brilliant Patrick Collins saves, from Aiden Helebert and Whelan, kept NUIG at bay, but McHugo and Hennelley cut the gap to a single point.

Kearney did stem the tide slightly but Whelan made it a one-point game again before Fox levelled. CIT did have one last chance with a free from their own 65, but O’Dwyer was unable to find the target.

NUIG, who host the finals weekend, will be away to holders Mary Immaculate College in next Tuesday’s last-eight tie.

Scorers for Cork IT: Michael Kearney 0-8 (0-6 frees), John O’Dwyer 0-5 (0-4 frees), Michael Cahalane, Jerry O’Neill 0-2 each, John Good, Andrew Coffey 0-1 each.

Scorers for NUI Galway: Ger Hennelly 0-11 (0-8 frees, 0-2 65), Ian Fox, Kevin McHugo, Conor Whelan 0-2 each, Oisín Donnellan, Gearóid Loughnane 0-1 each.


(Cork club unless stated)

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

5. Kevin Galvin (Clara, Kilkenny)
3. Daragh Fanning (Pallasgreen, Kilkenny)
4. Eoin Healy (Ballymartle)

7. David Noonan (Glen Rovers)
6. Conor O’Neill (Newcestown)
8. John Buckley (Lixnaw, Kerry)

9. John Good (Tracton)
19. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock, Limerick)

12. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg, Tipperary)
11. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff, Waterford)
10. Jerry O’Neill (Courcey Rovers)

13. Colm Keane (St Finbarr’s)
31. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)
14. Michael Cahalane (Bandon)


17. Billy Lyons (Causeway, Kerry) for Healy (35)
15. Tomás O’Connor (Inniscarra) for Good (44)
18. Conor Kingston (Douglas) for O’Neill (48)
22. Kevin Duggan (Galmoy, Laois) for Noonan (49)
32. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside/Ballinacourty, Waterford) for Hanley (60)


(Galway clubs unless stated)

1. Cathal Tuohy (Tommy Larkins)

17 Ger Fennelly (Ballingarry, Tipperary)
4. Conor Ryan (Nenagh Éire Óg, Tipperary)
7. Ger Forde (Ardrahan)

26. Shane Moloney (Rahoon/Newcastle)
6. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley, Clare)
5. Mike Connelly (Liam Mellows)

8. Ian Fox (Sarsfields)
9. Oisín Donnellan (Feakle, Clare)

18. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
11. Kevin McHugo (Tommy Larkins)
10. Niall Mitchell (Clonkill, Westmeath)

13. Gearóid Loughnane (Loughrea)
14. Sam Conlon (Roscrea, Tipperary)
12. Ger Hennelly (Ardrahan)


15. Aiden Helebert (Gort) for Conlon (half-time)
20. Jack Cummins (Gort) for Mitchell (42)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

UCD, UCC and IT Carlow all book places in last eight of Fitzgibbon Cup

Hat-trick for Limerick’s Gillane as champions Mary Immaculate storm to 32-point victory

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel