Rebel Roar - Strong Cork finish sees off Kerry in Munster U21 quarter final

Dan McEoin and Alan Cadogan struck 0-10 between them for Cork.

Dan McEoin was part of Cork's victorious team tonight.
Dan McEoin was part of Cork's victorious team tonight.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 0-18
Kerry 2-8

CORK’S HOPES FOR the four-in-a-row in the Munster U21FC remain on track after tonight’s storming finish proved too much for a poor Kerry side in Tralee.

Cork were by far the better side for most of the hour, yet with 20 minutes left on the clock they, inexplicably, trailed 2-6 to 0-10.

From that point on they completely took over as Kerry wilted. Seán Kiely, Mark Sugrue and wing-back Kevin Crowley surged forward with Sugrue kicking 0-3 alone in the last 15 minutes.

Even in the first half Cork looked the more composed side with Dan MacEoin and Alan Cadogan threatening to shoot the lights out. Kerry stuck to their task with Gavin Crowley and Pádraig Ó Conchúir leading their tigerish defensive efforts.

Gary O’Leary’s punched 17th minute goal for the home side came at a time when Cork were starting to dominate: it put Kerry ahead 1-3 to 0-4.

Ian Maguire was the dominant midfielder while the rangy Kiely at wing forward was also prominent. Inside Cadogan (a late name on the starting 15) and MacEoin were proving elusive – both kicked 0-3 in the first half.

Kerry’s backs kept them in the game forcing Cork, who kicked five wides in the first 30 minutes, to shoot under pressure.

At the other end the Kingdom’s forwards were ultra efficient. They converted close to all of their chances, that included a fortuitous penalty in the 25th minute when referee Keith O’Brien adjudged Thomas Hickey to have been fouled right on the edge of the square. Kerry full forward James Crean drilled the resultant penalty straight down the middle into the back of the net.

Cadogan and Hickey then traded points to leave Kerry ahead 2-4 to 0-7 at the break.

Cork were level within seven minutes of the restart with points from their star men: MacEoin (two) and Cadogan. Kerry captain Nathan Breen lifted the siege with an inspiring gallop of their defence that led to a point for Ciaran Keating. A second James Crean free of the day then put the Kingdom ahead by two: 2-6 to 0-10.

Cork’s wing forwards Sugrue and Kiely levelled the game again by the 46th minute before Kerry substitute Denis Daly saw his rasping shot brilliantly saved by Cork goalkeeper Michael Martin.

Then the Rebels upped their game outscoring Kerry 0-8 to 0-2 in the last quarter. Cork now advance to play Limerick at home in Páirc Uí Rinn next Wednesday night.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Kerry U21 boss Darragh Ó Sé. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Dan MacEoin 0-5 (0-1 free), Alan Cadogan 0-5, Mark Sugrue 0-3 (0-1 free), Sean Kiely 0-3, Kevin Kavanagh, John Corkery 0-1.

Scorers for Kerry: J Crean 1-3 (1-0 penalty, 0-2 frees), G O’Leary 1-0, T Hickey 0-3 (0-1 free), C Keating 0-2.

CORK: Michael Martin (Nemo Rangers); Jamie Davis (Douglas), Conor Dorman (Bishopstown), Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers); Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), Seán White (Clonakilty), Kevin Crowley (Millstreet); Darragh Murphy (Valley Rovers), Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs); Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Cian O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers), Seán Kiely (Ballincollig); Dan MacEoin (Ilen Rovers), David Harrington (Adrigole), Alan Cadogan (Douglas).

Subs: Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline) for Darragh Murphy, Cillian McIntyre (Carrigaline) for Cian O’Sullivan (both half-time), John Corkery (Aghabullogue) for Harrington (36), Kevin Fulignati (Nemo Rangers) for Brian O’Driscoll (51).

KERRY: Shane Murphy (Kilcummin); Nathan Breen (Beaufort, captain), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmets); Pádraig Ó Conchúir (Dingle), Pádraig Óg Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Tadhg Morley (Templenoe); Kieran Murphy (Kilcummin), Shaun Keane (Killarney Legion); Greg Horan (Austin Stacks), Gary O’Leary (Kilcummin), Adrian Spillane (Templenoe); Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds), James Crean (Annascaul), Ciarán Keating (Skellig Rangers).

Subs: Denis Daly (St Mary’s, Cahersiveen) for Greg Horan (40), Conor Keane (Killarney Legion) for Gary O’Leary (51), Cillian Fitzgerald (Churchill) for Adrian Spillane (53), Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk) for James Crean (55), Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks) for Tadhg Morley (60).

Referee: Keith O’Brien (Tipperary).

Tipperary too strong for Waterford and qualify for Munster U21 semi-final with Clare

Roscommon put four goals past Mayo to claim comfortable Connacht U21 football win

About the author:

JP McCarthy

Read next: