This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 18 October, 2019

5 players cut from Cork hurling squad as several youngsters added before 2017 campaign

Manager Kieran Kingston has begun assembling his preliminary squad.

Cork team huddle The Cork players before their qualifier against Dublin. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

CORK HAVE CUT five players from their 2016 hurling championship squad and added several youngsters as they get set to commence their pre-season preparations for 2017.

It’s been reported by the Evening Echo newspaper today that manager Kieran Kingston has omitted William Egan, William Leahy, Michael Russell, Niall Cashman and John Cronin from his initial squad.

In addition Sarsfields player Daniel Kearney is currently taking some time out to rehab from an injury but is expected back for next spring’s league campaign.

Daniel Kearney celebrates scoring a goal Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Egan and Cronin started at midfield and centre half-forward respectively in the championship exit at the hands of Wexford last July, while Russell was on the bench for that game.

In addition from the team that played in that match, it has already been confirmed that Aidan Walsh will focus on football next year.

Aidan Walsh Cork footballer Aidan Walsh Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

As expected Kingston is to focus on youth in his plans for next year. Defender Mark Coleman (Blarney) and attacker Shane Kingston (Douglas) – son of the manager – both came on as substitutes in the Wexford tie, while Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville) was on the bench.

Shane Kingston Cork hurler Shane Kingston Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

That trio linked up with the senior squad in the wake of the Cork U21′s losing out to Limerick in late June in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 quarter-final.

They had previously been part of a development squad and will now get a chance to impress as they join the squad early in the campaign.

Others set to be called up from last year’s Cork U21 team are David Griffin (Carrigaline), Luke Meade (Newcestown), Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock) and Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers).

Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own) and Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neill’s) from the 2015 Cork minor side also join the training squad along with Jack Sheehan, who featured for Erins Own in the recent Cork senior hurling final, and Blackrock player Shane O’Keeffe.

Robbie O'Flynn solos past Stephan McDonnell Robbie O'Flynn (left) in action in the county final. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Michael Cahalane will also be involved when Bandon, who play in the Munster Club IHC next Sunday, conclude their campaign.

Cork’s panel is set to be open-ended with the squad able to collectively commence training on 1 December.

Next year’s Cork will operate in Division 1A of the Allianz hurling league before facing Tipperary in the Munster quarter-final.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

All-Ireland winning Tipperary defender O’Brien announces his inter-county retirement

Cork All-Ireland football winner Goulding retires from inter-county game

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: