Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 1 December 2020

Cork claim 16-point win over Limerick to maintain bid for Munster U21 four-in-a-row

Mark Sugrue, Alan Cadogan and Dan MacEoin all fired home goals for Cork tonight.

Cork's Mark Sugrue hit their first goal tonight.
Cork's Mark Sugrue hit their first goal tonight.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork 3-15
Limerick 0-8

GOALS FROM MARK Sugrue, Alan Cadogan and Dan MacEoin helped Cork cruise into the Munster U21 football final tonight with a comfortable semi-final win over Limerick at Páirc Uí Rinn.

MacEoin scored 1-5 with Cadogan grabbing 1-4 as the Rebels kept alive their hopes of a fourth successive provincial title at the grade. They will now face Tipperary in the final for the second successive year but will have home advantage for the game on April 9th.

Mark Sugrue struck Cork’s first goal in the 10th minute, the hosts led by 1-3 to 0-1 and further strikes to the net followed by Cadogan and MacEoin as Cork raced clear by 3-3 to 0-4.

By the break they had extended that advantage to 3-7 to 0-6 as Cork built on last week’s opening round victory over Kerry in Tralee.

Danny Neville and Mike Fitzgibbon did their best to keep Limerick in touch on the scoreboard but they never looked like overhauling Cork.

Even with senior defenders Kevin Crowley and Brian O’Driscoll absent through injury, Cork did the business to ensure their hopes of claiming a fourth successive Munster U21 title are still on track.

Scorers for Cork: Dan Mac Eoin 1-5 (0-1 free), Alan Cadogan 1-4, Mark Sugrue 1-2 (0-1 free), Cian O’Sullivan 0-2, David Harrington, John Corkery 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Danny Neville (0-2 frees), Kevin Moore (0-1 free), Mike Fitzgibbon 0-2 each, Sean O’Dea, Jason Mullins 0-1 each.

CORK: Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers); Jamie Davis (Douglas), Conor Dorman (Bishopstown), Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers); Kevin Fulignati (Nemo Rangers), Seán White (Clonakilty), Kieran Histon (Cobh); Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), Ian Maguire (St. Finbarr’s); Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Cian O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers), Sean Kiely (Ballincollig); Dan MacEoin (Ilen Rovers), David Harrington (Adrigole), Alan Cadogan (Douglas).

Sub: John Corkery (Aghabullogue).

LIMERICK: James O’Mara (Fr Caseys); Alan Finnegan (Na Piarsiagh), Kevin Brosnan (Monagea), Ryan Meagher (St Patricks); Tony McCarthy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Kieran Larkin (Banogue), Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins); Gearoid Hegarthy (St Patricks), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Danny Neville (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Ryan Glynn (Bruff); Kevin Moore (Glin), Jason Mullins (St Patricks), Sean McSweeney (St Kierans).

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Tipperary crush Clare to set up Munster U21 final rematch with Cork

Dublin atone for 2013 loss to Longford as they reach Leinster U21 final

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel