Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
James Crombie/INPHO Cork players Shane Kingston and Gary Murphy are survivors from last year's team.
# youngsters
Familiar faces to meet again as Cork and Limerick name teams for minor clash
The teams meet at the Munster quarter-final stage on Wednesday night.

FIVE MEMBERS OF last year’s Cork minor football team are named to start for the county’s 2015 Munster MFC opener on Wednesday night.

Wing-back Sean Powter, who will captain the team, midfielder Daniel Ó Duinnín, wing-forward David Lowney, centre-forward Gary Murphy and full-forward Shane Kingston all started in the side that lost out last year at the All-Ireland quarter-final stage against Dublin.

Cork face Limerick on Wednesday night in the Gaelic Grounds at 7pm with Lowney and Kingston both hoping to taste success again at minor level after they played for the Cork minor hurling side that defeated Limerick last Wednesday night. Kingston shot 1-9 in that game for Cork.

Four members of the Rochestown College team that reached the Corn Uí Mhuirí final this year against eventual Hogan Cup winners PS Chorca Dhuibhne, are included in the side. All four are from the Douglas club with Kingston and Powter joined by Nathan Walsh and Eoin O’Brien.

Sean Powter and Tomas O'Se James Crombie / INPHO Sean Powter in action in last year's Munster minor final against Kerry. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Meanwhile, Limerick Manager Jerry O’Sullivan has also named his starting team for the game.

There are four players remaining  from the 2014 loss to Cork; Luke O’Connell, Sean Murphy, Sean Ivess and Mikey Morrissey.

Rathkeale man Morrissey will captain the side.


1. Chris Kelly (Éire Óg)

2. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
3. Tiernan O’Connell (Clonakilty)
4. Conor Dennehy (St. Finbarrs)

5. Sean Powter (Douglas) (Capt)
6. Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven)
7. Kevin O’Dwyer (Macroom)

8. Daniel Ó Duinnin (Cill na Martra)
9. Eoin O’Brien (Douglas)

10. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
11. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
12. Conor Hughes (Canovee)

13. Sean McEvoy (Clonakilty)
14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
15. Stephen Sherlock (St. Finbarrs)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

16. Mark White (Clonakilty)
17. Cathal O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
18. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire)
19. Seamus Madigan (Buttevant)
20. Stephen Leonard (Ilen Rovers)
21. Ryan Fowley (Buttevant)
22. Shane O’Neill (Killdorrey)
23. Sean Wilson (Douglas)
24. Sean Lucey (Ballincollig)


1. Aaron Murphy (Fr. Casey’s)

2. David Hanley (Ballysteen)
3. Luke O’ Connell (Mungret)
4. Fionn Murphy (Killteely-Dromkeen)

5. John Wallace (Glin)
6. Sean Ivess (Newcastlewest)
7. Sean Murphy (Newcastlewest)

8. Adam Kerins (St.Senan’s)
9. Michael Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown)

10. Andrew White (Rathkeale)
11. Mikey Morrissey (Rathkeale, captain)
12. Ed Sheehy (Granagh Ballingarry)

13. Diarmuid Kelly (Newcastlewest)
14. Mark Connolly (Adare)
15. James Ryan (Athea)

Colm Cooper is back scoring points for the first time in over a year

5 talking points as Cork and Dublin set up league final showdown

Kerry minor boss Jack O’Connor names 3 Hogan Cup winners in team for Munster opener