Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 27 October 2020

Cork storm into Munster football final with 16-point win over Limerick

Cork will now take on Kerry in the final on 3 July.

It was a routine win for the team managed by Brian O'Herlihy.
It was a routine win for the team managed by Brian O'Herlihy.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Cork 1-19
Limerick 0-6

Fintan O’Toole reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

THERE WILL BE a familiar look to the pairing on Munster minor football final day after Cork coasted into the decider against Kerry with victory in tonight’s semi-final clash against Limerick.

Kerry had overcome the challenge of Clare by seven points last night while Cork cruised to success tonight on home soil as they unleashed a powerful performance to sweep past Limerick.

Cork endured a stern test in their opening round success over Tipperary while Limerick had plotted a route through the backdoor yet there was no disputing the victors tonight.

Limerick raised the opening white flag of the game through Josh Ryan in the 3rd minute yet they were hit with a setback soon after by the loss of captain Diarmaid Kelly through a black card.

And by the time Limerick pointed again in the 30th minute, Cork had posted ten points on the board.

Attacking duo Damien Gore and Mark Buckley were outstanding in the full-forward line for Cork as they bagged a combined total of 0-7 in the first-half.

Centre-forward Colm O’Callaghan was also in excellent form as he cut through the Limerick defence at will.

By half-time Cork were ahead 0-12 to 0-2 and they were also grateful for goalkeeper Mark White’s early intervention in denying Anthony Barrett’s close range shot.

Limerick’s faint hopes of a comeback were firmly quelled early in the second-half. Gore and Cathal Maguire struck points for Cork before wing-forward Sean O’Sullivan drilled home the only goal of the game in the 36th minute after good approach work by Shane O’Driscoll.

That left Cork in a commanding position with a 1-14 to 0-3 lead and the game petered out from there to its inevitable conclusion.

Gore finished as Cork’s top scorer with 0-7 while captain Nathan Walsh provided a strong platform throughout with his centre-back play.

Limerick kept battling and were rewarded with fine late points from Darragh Ranahan and Anthony Barrett, but that didn’t prevent Brian Herlihy’s Cork charges advancing impressively to the final on 3 July.

Scorers for Cork: Damien Gore 0-7 (0-5f), Mark Buckley 0-3, Sean O’Sullivan 1-0, Colm O’Callaghan, Cathal Maguire 0-2 each, Liam O’Donovan, Tadhg Corkery, Sean Ryan, Cathal O’Mahony 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Anthony Barrett 0-2, Josh Ryan, Darragh Ranahan, Conor O’Grady, William O’Meara (0-1f) 0-1 each.


1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)
3. Alan McCarthy (St Finbarr’s)
4. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) Vice Captain

5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
6. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) Captain
7. Rory O’Driscoll (Garnish)

8. Cathal Foley (Western Gaels/Kilmichael)
9. Sean Minihane (Ilen Rovers)

10. Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown)
11. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)
12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)

13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
14. Mark Buckley (Sam Maguires/Dohenys)
15. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire)

21. Sean Ryan (Ballinascarthy) for Foley (40)
22. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Buckley (40)
23. Cathal O’Mahony (Mitchelstown) for Maguire (44)
17. Aidan Browne (Trinity Gaels/Newmarket) for McCarthy (44)
24. Darragh Moynihan (Sliabh Luachra/Ballydesmond) for O’Sullivan (47)
20. Gearoid O’Donoghue (Ballincollig) for Minihane (54)


1. Aaron Murphy (Fr Casey’s)

2. Gearoid Brennan (Claughaun)
3. Fionn Murphy (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
4. Daniel Enright (Monaleen)

5. Seamus Hurley (Newcastlewest)
6. Adam Kearns (St Senans)
7. Oran Collins (Adare)

8. Josh Ryan (Oola)
9. Diarmaid Kelly (Newcastlewest) (Captain)

10. Jason Kiely (Claughaun)
11. Colm McSweeney (Gearld Griffins)
12. Adam Storan (Mungret/St Pauls)

13. Eoin O Mahoney (Ballylanders)
14. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock)
15. James Ryan (Athea)

19. Darragh Ranahan (Ballysteen) for Kelly (black card) (9)
22. Conor O’Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown) for O’Mahony (38)
20. Luke Cardy (Adare) for Storan (45)
17. Eoghan Carew (Monaleen) for Hurley (49)
18. James Kelly (Monaleen) for Brennan (56)
10. Dillon Corrigan (Kildimo-Pallaskenry) for Kearns (56)

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

5 provincial senior football championship clashes we’d love to see this summer

After being injured for 18 months, Cork’s Sheehan will make Aussie Rules comeback this weekend

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: