Cork fans fly their flag (file pic). Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Cork minors easily overcome Waterford to advance to Munster hurling last four

Corner forward Brian Turnbull shone brightest for Denis Ring’s charges with ten points (seven from play).

Munster Minor Hurling Play-Off

Cork 1-24

Waterford 0-8

Tomás McCarthy reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

A FORMIDABLE CORK minor outfit easily accounted for Waterford in the Munster championship play-off at a sunny Páirc Uí Rinn. Brian Roche’s second half blast confirmed their place in the provincial semis before an attendance of 2,114.

Corner forward Brian Turnbull shone brightest for Denis Ring’s charges with ten points (seven from play). Craig Hanafin and Liam O’Shea chipped in three apiece. Sean O’Leary Hayes and James Keating were secure at the back. The comprehensive winners didn’t shoot a wide until the 48th minute of the contest.

Waterford only mustered a single point from play all evening. Free taker Billy Power finished as leading scorer on 0-5. Busy goalkeeper Eoghan Browne pulled off three close range stops.

Cork led right from the off despite playing into the breeze. Browne saved from Robert Downey in the first minute before Turnbull got the scoreboard moving. The Douglas attacker claimed five first half singles.

Tom Looby notched Waterford’s first from play but the hosts drove over five unanswered points through Liam O’Shea, Craig Hanafin, Turnbull and Daire Connery to move 0-9 to 0-2 ahead after 20 minutes.

The visitors failed to score for fourteen minutes before Power converted two frees late in the half. Turnbull completed the opening thirty with a fine point close to the sideline.

The Déise made a triple substitution at the break but to no avail. Seven minutes into the second half, Brian Roche smashed a shot high to the net after a James Keating dropped in a long range free (1-12 to 0-5).

Turnbull added five more points to his total. Corner back Conor O’Callaghan also lent his support to the attacking effort. Subs Barry Murphy and John Geary had an instant impact by raising late white flags.

Cork move on to the last four in June while Waterford get another opportunity against Limerick on May 11.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-10 (3fs); Brian Roche 1-0; Daire Connery (3fs), Craig Hanafin, Liam O’Shea 0-3 each; Evan Sheehan 0-2, Conor O’Callaghan, Barry Murphy, John Geary 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Billy Power 0-5 (5fs); Iarlaith Daly (f), Thomas Douglas (f), Tom Looby 0-1 each.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

3. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)
2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

7. Ger Millerick (Fr O Neills)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
5. Ross Howell (Douglas)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Lenihan (Ballyhooly)

10. Craig Hanafin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)

21. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Lenihan (48)
23. John Geary (Newtownshandrum) for O’Shea (48)
22. Brian Buckley (Dromina) for Brian Roche (51)
19. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill) for Howell (52)
17. Jack O’Callaghan (Charleville) for Eoin Roche (55)


1. Eoghan Browne (Mount Sion)

2. Conor Giles Doran (De La Salle)
3. James Flavin (Ardmore)
17. Matt Noonan (Cappoquin)

5. Mairtín Power (Clonea)
6. Luke O’Brien (Mount Sion)
4. Dan Booth (Colligan)

8. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore)
9. Sean Whelan-Barrett (Abbeyside)

13. Conor Whelan (Brickey Rangers)
11. Billy Power (Clonea)
12. Harry Ruddle (Ballygunner)

15. Gavin Dalton (Modeligo)
10. Tom Looby (Abbeyside)
14. Thomas Douglas (De La Salle)


18. Ian Beecher (Tallow) for Booth (H-T)
20. Ciarán Power (Clonea) for Dalton (H-T)
23. Kyle Bennett (Lismore) for Ruddle (H-T)
19. Edward Cullen (Mount Sion) for Whelan-Barrett (41)
24. Ronan Dunphy (Ballyduff Lower) for Douglas (54)

Referee: Philip Kelly (Tipperary)

‘No regrets’ over Africa trip, juggling medicine and football, returning to the Dublin camp>

‘No forcing or pressuring’ – Kildare boss to give Brophy time after Aussie Rules career in Perth ends>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.