James Crombie/INPHO Kieran Histon hit the net for Cork today.
# Rebel Rule
Cork cruise into Munster junior football final with 14-point win over Tipperary
A final place on 30 June beckons for the Rebels.

Cork 1-21
Tipperary 0-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

CORK COMPLETED THEIR Munster junior football semi-final assignment with minimal fuss this afternoon in Semple Stadium as they breezed past Tipperary by 14 points.

Cork had an array of attackers in fine scoring form with half-forwards Michael Vaughan and Killian O’Hanlon contributing a combined total of 0-9 from play.

Inside forwards Mark Sugrue and Gerry O’Connor chipped in with 0-6 and 0-4 respectively as Cork eased into the decider on 30 June.

Tipperary competed strongly in the opening quarter with freetaker Joe Ryan ensuring they only trailed by 0-4 to 0-3 after that time frame.

However Cork hit a game-breaking score in the 18th minute when Brian Coughlan delivered in a sideline that was gathered by corner-forward David Harrington and he transferred to wing-back Kieran Histon who burst through to finish clinically to the net.

They accelerated further clear on the scoreboard before half-time with Vaughan and O’Hanlon picking off some fine points to leave Cork ahead 1-11 to 0-6 at the interval.

Cork kept Tipperary at arms length throughout the second-half and when midfielder Coughlan fisted a point in the 45th minute, they were in front 1-16 to 0-8.

Tipperary grabbed a couple of consolation late points from Ryan and substitute Seamus Grogan but Sugrue added the insurance scores to seal Cork’s triumph.

Scorers for Cork: Mark Sugrue 0-6 (0-2f, 0-1 ’45), Michael Vaughan 0-5, Killian O’Hanlon, Gerry O’Connor (0-3f) 0-4 each, Kieran Histon 1-0, Brian Coughlan, David Harrington 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Joe Ryan 0-4 (0-4f), Aidan Buckley 0-2, Jack Kennedy, Thomas Hanley, David Butler (0-1f) Seamus Grogan 0-1 each


1. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

2. Diarmuid Colfer (Glanworth)
3. Peter Murphy (Bandon)
4. John Mullins (Éire Óg)

5. David O’Neill (Mayfield)
6. Bart Daly (Newmarket)
7. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

8. Brian Coughlan (Kinsale)
9. Cillian Brosnan (Brian Dillons)

10. Michael Vaughan (Millstreet)
11. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
12. Ryan Harkin (Mallow)

13. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)
14. Gerry O’Connor (Boherbue)
15. David Harrington (Adrigole)


23. Eoghan Buckley (St Michael’s) for Harrington (43)
21. Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues) for Brosnan (50)
22. Chris Moynihan (Gabriel Rangers) for Harkin (50)
19. Niall McCarthy (Mayfield) for Histon (52)
20. TJ Brosnan (Newmarket) for Mullins (53)
24. Paul Condon (Mayfield) for Vaughan (56)


1. Jake McDonald (Clonmel Commercials)

2. Adrian McGuire (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
3. Rian O’Callaghan (Ballyporeen)
4. Christy O’Connor (Newport)

5. Luke Moore (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch)
7. Gavin Ryan (Rockwell Rovers)

8. Aidan Buckley (St Patrick’s)
9. Cathal Dillon (Aherlow Gaels – captain)

10. Thomas Hanley (Aherlow Gaels)
11. Niall McKenna (Cahir)
12. Jamie Bergin (Drom-Inch)

13. Joe Ryan (Kilmurry – Cork)
14. David Butler (Drom-Inch)
15. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)


18. Mikey O’Dwyer (Arravale Rovers) for McKenna (half-time)
17. Daithi Bargary (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Moloney (39)
23. Seamus Grogan (Aherlow Gaels) for Butler (39)
24. TJ Ryan (Rockwell Rovers) for Hanley (44)
20. David Hayes (Fethard) for Dillon (51)
16. Gordon Peters (Aherlow Gaels) for McDonald (54)

Referee: Sean Joy (Kerry)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Conal Keaney: Dublin were a ‘tactical shambles’ against Kilkenny

Kilkenny third quarter control, Dublin collapse, new Cats attacking gem