This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 19 November, 2019

Shields and Cadogan back as Cork make 5 changes for Roscommon game

Páirc Uí Rinn is the venue for Sunday’s match.

LAST YEAR’S TEAM captain Michael Shields will make his first appearance for Cork in  the 2016 Allianz football league campaign on Sunday against Roscommon.

Michael Shields leads his team during the parade Michael Shields and Eoin Cadogan are back in the Cork defence for Sunday's league tie. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Shields has been named at centre-back for the Páirc Uí Rinn tie after missing the opening round games against Mayo and Donegal.

Eoin Cadogan also returns to anchor the defence at full-back having been absent for the Donegal game after the injury he suffered in a collision with Lee Keegan in Mayo’s opening tie.

Eoin Cadogan checks on Lee Keegan after the game Eoin Cadogan and Lee Keegan after the game between Cork and Mayo Source: James Crombie/INPHO

In total there are five changes from the loss to Donegal with Ken O’Halloran starting in goal, James Loughrey named at corner-back and Luke Connolly coming in at wing-forward.

Brendan O’Connell, Jamie O’Sullivan, Kevin Crowley, Kevin O’Driscoll and Donal Óg Hodnett are the players to make way.


1. Ken O Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. James Loughrey (Mallow)

5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6. Michael Shields (St Finbarrs)
7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

8. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)

10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers) – Captain
12. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

16. Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
18. Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa)
19. Bart Daly (Newmarket)
20. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
21. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
22. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
23. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig)
24. Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers)
25. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)
26. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)

Two changes to Roscommon team for Sunday’s clash with Cork

Kerry hand debut to Aidan Walsh and bring back Ó Sé as 7 changes made for Down

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel