Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Cork hit 3-30 as they cruise past Tipperary and book third Munster hurling spot

Tipperary lost a fourth straight game in the province.

Cork 3-30

Tipperary 1-24

CORK’S SEASON LOOKED in grave danger of coming to an early end the last time they played at Semple Stadium but today they returned to the Thurles venue and stamped their authority on proceedings.

dillon-quirke-with-shane-kingston-and-mark-coleman Tipperary's Dillon Quirke with Cork's Shane Kingston. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

There was a momentary wobble in the opening stages as Cork shipped 1-3 without reply but they proceeded to control the rest of the game and amassed a remarkable 3-30 on the scoreboard to inflict a crushing defeat on Tipperary.

The upshot is that Tipperary’s All-Ireland hopes over after a wretched Munster hurling run and they may face a potential relegation play-off against Kerry. Cork now move forward to the All-Ireland series after bagging the third spot in the province. Conor Lehane was outstanding as he struck 0-8 while Alan Connolly, Darragh Fitzgibbon and substitute Tim O’Mahony all hit the net.

Tipperary’s woes were compounded by a missed first-half penalty from Noel McGrath and a second-half red card shown to Alan Flynn.

Tipperary could scarcely have imagined a better start to the game. Inside 40 seconds of play, Mark Kehoe sent Jake Morris galloping into space and he batted a finish to the net.

jake-morris-scores-a-goal-despite-mark-coleman Jake Morris grabs Tipperary's early goal. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Tipperary built on that by rattling off three points to go six clear and while Cork registered a trio of scores to pare the deficit, the game was defined by a critical phase of play in the 12th minute. Kehoe was fouled for a penalty but McGrath smashed in a shot that bounced out off the upright. Cork gathered the rebound and swiftly counter-attacked, Robbie O’Flynn finding Alan Connolly in space and the Blackrock man brushed off defensive challenges to maintain his composure to strike his fourth goal in this summer’s Munster championship.

Suddenly Tipperary were only a point in front instead of capitalising the chance to surge seven clear. Cork gained belief and used it as a springboard to command the rest of the half. Lehane was in mesmeric form in attack, picking off six points from play and causing chaos for the Tipperary defence. O’Flynn and Shane Kingston made useful scoring contributions with a pair of points apiece, while Darragh Fitzgibbon embarked on an electric run in the 15th minute that yielded Cork’s second goal.

conor-lehane-with-noel-mcgrath Cork's Conor Lehane. Source: Evan Treacy/INPHO

Cork were 2-14 to 1-9 clear at the interval and essentially the contest was settled by their capacity to protect the goal of Patrick Collins in the second half, enabling them to keep Tipperary at arm’s length.

At the other end Cork kept the scoreboard moving and grabbed a third goal after a sublime team move that culminated in Fitzgibbon flicking the ball across for a first-time finish from O’Mahony.

A fourth goal could have arrived for Cork soon after but O’Mahony was denied by a fine block from Barry Hogan. In Lehane, Kingston, Coleman, O’Flynn, Harnedy and substitute Jack O’Connor, Cork had several scoring options in the second half. Tipperary relied on Noel McGrath and Jason Forde to keep them chipping away but it was a futile task in terms of altering the outcome of this game.

Scorers for Cork: Conor Lehane 0-8 (0-1f), Tim O’Mahony 1-1, Alan Connolly 1-1, Patrick Horgan 0-5 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65) Shane Kingston 0-4, Darragh Fitzgibbon 1-0, Mark Coleman 0-3 (0-1f), Robbie O’Flynn 0-3, Seamus Harnedy 0-3, Jack O’Connor 0-2.

Scorers for Tipperary: Noel McGrath 0-13 (0-12f), Jake Morris 1-2, Jason Forde 0-5, Ronan Maher 0-1 (0-1f), Conor Stakelum 0-1, Dillon Quirke 0-1, Patrick Maher 0-1.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers),  5. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), 6. Ciaran Joyce (Castlemartyr), 7. Mark Coleman (Blarney – captain)

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

13. Shane Kingston (Douglas), 14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), 10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), 

12. Conor Lehane (Midleton), 11. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 15. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)


21. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum) for Horgan (44)

20. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton) for Meade (57)

25. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields) for O’Flynn (60)

19. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills) for Downey (66)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

24. Shane Barrett (Blarney) for Lehane (66)


1. Barry Hogan (Kiladangan)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), 3. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields – captain), 4. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs), 

5. Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), 6. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s), 7. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

8. Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields), 9. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

12. Michael Breen (Ballina), 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 10. Ger Browne (Cashel King Cormacs)

13. Jason Forde (Silvermines), 14. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 15. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg) 


19. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan) for Heffernan (half-time)

23. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for Browne (half-time)

26. James Quigley (Kiladangan) for Barrett (inj) (40)

17. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy) for Breen (47)

Referee: Sean Stack (Dublin)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole  / Reports from Semple Stadium

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel