Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Thursday 13 May 2021

Tipp switch two for Banner clash as Lehane returns at full forward for Rebels

A fortnight on from their 10-goal shoot-out with Kilkenny, the Premier County have largely kept faith with the team ahead of a duel with the All-Ireland champions Clare.

Lehane and O'Mahony start for their respective counties this weekend.
Lehane and O'Mahony start for their respective counties this weekend.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

JIMMY BARRY MURPHY has made wholesale changes to his Cork team to face Offaly in division 1b of the National Hurling League at Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday.

Conor Lehane returns from injury and will line-out at full forward while, at the other end of the field, Anthony Nash once again fills out the number one jersey.

The remaining changes see Killian Murphy start at corner back with Colm Spillane ruled out through injury. Paul Haughey drops out of the starting side with Lorcan McLoughlin moved up from half back to midfield and Eoin Cadogan named right wing back. Inside him, Eoin Keane  will operate at centre half back.

The remaining changes are at wing forward where Daniel Kearney and Aidan Walsh comin in for Jamie Coughlan and Michael O’Sullivan.

Tipperary, meanwhile, have made just two tweaks to their team before taking on All-Ireland champions Clare after losing to Kilkenny last time out in division 1a.

The changes come at either end of the field with Conor O’Mahony starting at full back in place of Thomas Stapleton and Shane Bourke earning the nod at corner forward at the expense of  Conor O’Brien.

Tipperary (v Clare): Darren Gleeson (Portroe); Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill); Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – Captain), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch); Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Eire Og); Jason Forde (Silvermines), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) .

Cork (v Offaly):  Anthony Nash (Kanturk), Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), Kilian Murphy (Erin’s Own), Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Eoin Keane (St. Finbarr’s), William Egan (Kilbrin), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk), Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields). Séamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk),  Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), Conor Lehane (Midleton), Stephen Moylan (Douglas).

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: