This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Friday 18 October, 2019

Cork brush Wexford aside to reach first All-Ireland U21 hurling final in 20 years

The Rebels looked very impressive as they recorded a 22-point victory at Nowlan Park this afternoon.

Liam Healy scores a goal Liam Healy scores Cork's second goal. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork 3-26
Wexford 0-13

Conor McKenna reports from Nowlan Park

CORK CRUISED INTO the All-Ireland U21 hurling final with a 22-point victory over a disappointing Wexford outfit, in what were ideal conditions for hurling in Kilkenny this afternoon.

This game failed to deliver as a contest for the paying spectators as Cork were in control from the outset, with two early goals from Tim O’Mahony putting them in the driving seat.

One would have to feel sorry for Jack Cushe in the Wexford goalmouth, who produced two brilliant saves but could not prevent O’Mahony from tapping home the rebound on both occasions.

Rory Higgins and Ger Millerick Rory Higgins of Wexford attempts to get away from Cork's Ger Millerick. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork had built up a six-point advantage with just 10 minutes on the clock and pushed on superbly before the interval, registering 2-14 in the opening half alone.

A free from the ever-reliable Declan Dalton before the break left the Rebels 11 points clear at half-time, with Denis Ring’s side full value for their sizeable advantage.

Cork raised a third green flag shortly after the restart when O’Mahony fed Liam Healy, before the Sarsfields clubman made no mistake with the finish to stretch his side’s advantage to 16 points.

Declan Dalton was stretchered off the field midway through the second period due to what looked like a knee injury. The Cork management will hope that the issue is not severe enough to rule him out of the decider against Galway or Tipperary.

Declan Dalton receives treatment Cork's Declan Dalton receives treatment. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: D Dalton 0-8 (6f), T O’Mahony 2-2, S Kingston, C Cahalane and J O’Connor 0-4 each, L Healy 1-1, A Myers 0-2 (2f), C O’Leary 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: S Casey 0-6 (3f, 1 s/l), D Reck, A Maddock and R White 0-2 each, C Hearne 0-1.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
3. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)
4. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

5. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
6. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
7. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs)

18. John Cashman (Blackrock)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Liam Healy (Sarsfields)
14. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
15. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)


21. Conor Cahalane (St. Finbarrs) for Mellerick (36)
23. Aaron Myers for Dalton (52)
20. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh) for Fitzgibbon (55)
8. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers) for Kingston (59)
Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe) for Coleman (61)


1. Jack Cushe (Naomh Eanna)

2. Shane Reck (Oylgate-Glenbrien)
3. Darren Byrne (Blackwater)
11. Eoin Molloy (Naomh Eanna)

4. Conor Firman (St Martin’s)
7. Ian Carthy (Taghmon-Camross)
9. Rowan White (Glynn-Barntown)

5. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
8. Garry Molloy (Naomh Eanna)

10. Oisin Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn)
6. Damien Reck (Oylgate-Glenbrien)
12. Liam Stafford (Adamstown)

13. Mikie Dwyer (Fethard)
14. Rory Higgins (Rathnure)
15. Seamus Casey (Oylgate-Glenbrien)


18. Stephen O’Gorman (Taghmon-Camross) for S Reck (25)
22. Darren Codd (St. Martin’s) for Stafford (HT)
19. Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers) for Foley (HT)
23. Eoin Kelly (HWH Bunclody) for Higgins (41)
17. Jody Donohue (Shelmalliers) for Byrne (45)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Conor McKenna

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel