Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
INPHO John Maughan's son is in the Mayo minor team to face Galway.
# Young Guns
John Maughan's son named in defence for Mayo's Connacht minor clash with Galway
Damien Duff and Paul Lambert are also playing in this weekend’s provincial semi-finals.

FORMER MAYO SENIOR boss John Maughan’s son is in the county’s minor football team to face Galway in tomorrow’s Electric Ireland Connacht semi-final.

Maughan Jnr., also named John, lines out at left corner back as the holders face the Tribesmen for the third successive season in the provincial semi-finals.

Mayo and Galway will know their potential final opponents before throw-in as Roscommon and Sligo go head-to-head in this evening’s first semi-final.

Mayo take on Galway at Elverys MacHale Park at 6.30pm and the Sligo-Roscommon clash has a 7.30pm in start in Kiltoom.

Here are the four team lists:


1. Patrick O’Malley (Westport)

2. Donovan Cosgrove (Kiltimagh)
3. Tommie Keane (Mayo Gaels)
4. John Maughan (Castlebar Mitchells)

5. Paul Lambert (Westport)
6. Rhyne Collins (Castlebar Mitchells)
7. Dylan Cannon (Breaffy)

8. Barry Duffy (Balla, capt.)
9. David Hanley (Burrishoole)

10. Shairoize Akram (Ballaghaderreen)
11. James Lyons (Aghamore)
12. Ross Egan (Aghamore)

13. Liam Byrne (Moy Davits)
14. James Carr (Ardagh)
15. Gerry Canavan (Mayo Gaels)


1. Ronán Ó Beoláin

2. Caelom Mulry
3. Dylan McHugh
4. Ian Kent

5. Sean Kelly
6. Liam Kelly
7. John Daly

8. Colm Brennan
9. Cillian McDaid

10. Eric Lee
11. Conor Marsden
12. Finian Ó Laoi

13. Colin Ryan
14. Michael Boyle (capt.)
15. Ryan Forde


1. Eamonn Kilgannon (St Farnan’s)

2. Brian Mahon (Owenmore Gaels)
3. Eddie McGuinness (Tubbercurry, capt.)
4. Mark O’Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass)

5. Nathan Mullen (Coolaney/Mullinabreena)
6. Finnian Cawley (St Farnan’s)
7. Sean Power (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Darragh Cummins (Calry/St Joseph’s)
9. Paul Kilcoyne (St Mary’s)

10. Liam Gaughan (Tourlestrane)
11. Nathan Rooney (St Mary’s)
12. Sean Carrabine (Castleconnor)

13. Kyle Cawley (St Mary’s)
14. Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s)
15. Michael Gordon (Easkey)


1. James Fetherstone

2. John Donohue
3. Aidan Dowd
4. Damien Duff

5. Richard Hughes
6. Mark Richardson
7. Luke Kelly

8. Gearoid Keenan
9. Conor Murray

10. Michael McGloin
11. Brian Stack
12. Kieran White

13. Conor Payne
14. Hubert Darcy
15. Cian McKeon

3 changes for Westmeath hurlers ahead of Limerick qualifier clash

Tipperary’s biggest injury headache is in defence before Munster hurling final

Related Tags