This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 30 May, 2020

Last year's finalists DCU hit 3 goals as they thrash Queen's in Sigerson opener

Ryan Burns, Niall Murphy and Enda Smith all found the net for DCU.

Ciaran O'Hanlon with Mark Plunket DCU are aiming to reach a third successive Sigerson Cup final this year. Source: PressEye/Jonathan Porter/INPHO

DCU 3-10
Queen’s University 0-3

Orla Bannon reports from The Dub, Belfast

DCU THRASHED QUEEN’S University with three second-half goals in Belfast easing them through to the quarter-finals of the Sigerson Cup.

The 2015 champions, chasing a place in the final for the third year in a row, had little trouble seeing off the home side with goals from Ryan Burns, Niall Murphy and Enda Smith.

DCU led 0-6 to 0-2 at half-time having played into the wind at the Dub. Queen’s scored the first and last points of the half through Sean Fox and Marty O’Reilly but in between, DCU hit six-in-a-row with Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor cutting across the ball to score a memorable long-range point into the breeze.

Burns’ opening goal in the 39th minute was awarded after the referee checked with the umpire if his low shot had crossed the line.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

Queen’s, who had Anthony Doherty and Ciaran O’Hanlon black-carded in each half, went for broke and pushed up, leaving huge gaps at the back which DCU exploited.

They pounced for two goals inside a minute, first Niall Murphy skinned his man and controlled the finish mid-way through the second half.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

Murphy’s lofted a pass over the top of a static home defence to Hugh McFadden, whose unselfish pass across the goal was palmed home by Roscommon sub Enda Smith.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

Scorers for DCU: Niall Murphy 1-3 (3f), Ryan Burns 1-1, Enda Smith 1-0, B Kerr, H McFadden, D O’Connor, J Duncan, C Breheny, D Mannix 0-1 each

Scorers for Queen’s: S Fox, M O’Reilly, J Dowling 0-1 each


Shane Mannion (Roscommon)

Eoin Smith (Dublin)
Patrick Durcan (Mayo)
S Lavin (Meath)

B Kerry (Monaghan)
Kevin Feely (Kildare)
Sharoize Akram (Mayo)

Caolan McGonagle (Donegal)
Hugh McFadden (Donegal)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)
M Plunkett (Leitrim)
E O’Connor (Kerry)

J Durcan (Mayo)
N Murphy (Sligo)
R Burns (Louth)


E Smith (Roscommon) for Durcan (35)
C Breheny (Sligo) for O’Connor (42)
J McGuigan (Monaghan) for McGonagle (46)
T Lahiffe for O’Connor (47)
S Carthy (Dublin) for Murphy (52)
D Mannix (Kerry) for McFadden (55)

Queen’s University

J O’Hare (Down)

N Keenan (Derry)
A Rushe (Armagh)
R Wells (Down)

S Heffron (Armagh)
J McMahon (Fermanagh)
C Francis (Down)

A Doherty (Down)
D McKeever (Down)

C McCartan (Down)
M Clarke (Down)
C O’Hanlon (Armagh)

M O’Reilly (Donegal)
A McClements (Down)
S Fox (Tyrone)


J Dowling (Antrim) for Doherty (BC, 28)
C Donaghy (Tyrone) for Francis (HT)
C Harney (Down) for O’Hanlon (BC, 35)
G McCabe (Armagh) for McClements (42)
F Quinn (Armagh) for Fox (42)
A Fegan (Down) for Wells (49)

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Extra-time drama sees 14-man UL pip Maynooth to Sigerson victory

5 live triple headers part of eir Sport’s 23-game GAA league coverage this spring

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Orla Bannon

Read next: