DCU hit four goals in comfortable Sigerson Cup win over NUI Galway

DCU now advance to face UCD at the quarter-final stage.

DCU's Conor McHugh scores his side's third goal.
DCU's Conor McHugh scores his side's third goal.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

DCU 4-15
NUI Galway 0-11

A FOUR-GOAL burst from Dublin City University ensured that the three-time winners cruised into the quarter-finals of the Sigerson Cup at the expense of NUI Galway this afternoon.

The three-time winners raised three green flags in the first half and that provided the platform for a comprehensive 16-point victory.

Dublin’s Conor McHugh and Wicklow star Conor McGraynor were among the goalscorers at St Brigid’s GAA club in Blanchardstown.

NUI Galway started brightly but DCU had too much class as they set up a mouthwatering derby with UCD in the quarter-finals.

NUIG started brightly and were 0-3 to 0-0 clear within nine minutes but DCU hit 1-3 without reply to gain the advantage.

Longford ace Michael Quinn netted a stunning goal in the 16th minute but dogged NUIG fought back to level proceedings at 0-7 to 1-4 by the 24th minute.

That was before McGraynor and McHugh found the net before half-time to hand DCU a 3-6 to 0-8 half-time advantage and the second half turned into a procession for the winners.

Sean Moran received a black card in the opening minute of the second half as NUIG’s afternoon went from bad to worse.

Gary Kelly netted DCU’s fourth goal from a 39th minute penalty after McHugh was haued down and NUIG corner back Adrian Nolan received a black card from referee Padraig Hughes for the foul.


NUIG’s Shane Moran with Pat Fox and Davy Byrne of DCU
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Scorers for DCU: Conor McHugh 1-5, Conor McGraynor 1-2, Gary Kelly 1-1 (1-0 pen), Michael Quinn 1-0, Brian Donnelly 0-3 (2 45s), Scott Oates 0-2, Ciaran Cafferky & Davy Byrne 0-1 each.
Scorers for NUIG: Adrian Varley 0-6f, David McCormack 0-2, Johnny Kelly 0-2f, Shane Moran 0-1.

DCU: James Farrelly (Cavan); Edwin Murray (Galway), Donal Wrynn (Leitrim), Ciaran Cafferkey (Roscommon); Pete Dooney (Monaghan), Craig Dunleavy (Dublin), Fintan Kelly (Roscommon); Eoin O’Connor (Louth), Brian Donnelly (Louth); Michael Quinn (Longford), Pat Fox (Meath), Davy Byrne (Dublin); Conor McHugh (Dublin), Conor McGraynor (Wicklow), Gary Kelly (Galway).

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Subs: Gary Sweeney (Dublin) for Dunleavy (26), Colin Compton (Roscommon) for Fox (h.t.), Scott Oates (Roscommon) for Kelly (40), Fionn O’Shea (Cork) for Dooney (43), Tom Flynn (Galway) for Quinn (50), Conor Moynagh (Cavan) for Donnelly (50).

NUIG: Donal O’Sullivan (Limerick); Adrian Nolan (Galway), Caolan Crowe (Mayo), Lee Cullen (Fermanagh); Ciaran O’Domhnaill (Galway), John McManus (Roscommon), David Gavin (Mayo); Shane Moran (Leitrim), Einne O’Heochaidh (Galway); Johnny Kelly (Sligo), Sean Moran (Galway), Damien Comer (Galway); David McCormack (Westmeath), Adrian Varley (Galway), Kelvin Reilly (Westmeath).

Subs: Kevin Gibbons (Mayo) for O’Domhnaill (h.t.), Conor Guckian (Leitrim) for Sean Moran (black card, 31), Shane Gaffney (Galway) for Nolan (black card, 38), Ian Galvin (Kerry) for O’Heochaidh (52).

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh).

Hosts Queen’s University exit Sigerson Cup against GMIT in first round

Macauley amongst goalscorers as NUI Maynooth win Sigerson Cup opener

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: