This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 19 °C Friday 19 July, 2019

All-Ireland U21 winning duo ratified as Davy Fitzgerald's successors in Clare

Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor will take the reins for the Banner in 2017.

Donal Moloney and Gerry O'Connor Donal Moloney and Gerry O'Connor Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Updated at 20.50

DONAL MOLONEY AND Gerry O’Connor were ratified as the new joint managers of the Clare senior hurling team at a county board meeting tonight.

The pair were left in pole position to be appointed after the revelation last Friday night that Anthony Daly had withdrawn from the race to be the next supremo.

All-Ireland winning captain Daly decided to bow out of the reckoning as he was not keen to enter into a contest for the position.

That paved the way for Moloney and O’Connor — the only remaining candidates for the position — to take charge. Their appointment was confirmed this evening.

They succeed Davy Fitzgerald — appointed last Friday night as the new Wexford manager — after he had been at the helm in Clare for the past five campaigns.

It is believed that Cork All-Ireland winner Donal Óg Cusack will remain on board in a coaching capacity having filled that role this year under Fitzgerald.

Gerry O'Connor and Donal Moloney with Richie Mulrooney   Clare's Gerry O'Connor and Donal Moloney with Kilkenny's Richie Mulrooney after the 2012 All-Ireland U21 hurling final Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scarriff native Moloney and Killanena native O’Connor enjoyed a brilliant run of success with Clare underage teams.

Remarkably they steered Clare to five successive Munster underage hurling titles — minor in 2010 and 2011 before the U21 wins in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

The duo saw Clare lose the 2010 All-Ireland minor final and 2011 All-Ireland minor semi-final under their watch before impressively stringing together an All-Ireland U21 three-in-a-row between 2012 and 2014.

Colm Collins was also ratified for another year in charge of Clare’s senior footballers.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Cavan appoint new manager for Division 1 return after Hyland departure

Watch: Local commentator loses his mind after dramatic finish to Wicklow football final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: