Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Dublin's minor hurlers are back in an All-Ireland semi-final

The overcame Antrim in today’s quarter-final.

Dublin’s Ciaran Dowling chased by Gerard Walsh of Antrim.
Dublin’s Ciaran Dowling chased by Gerard Walsh of Antrim.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Dublin 2-22
Antrim 2-11

FREE-TAKER MATTHEW OLIVER led the scoring with 11 points as Dublin bounced back from their provincial heartache to secure an All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final clash with Tipperary.

First-half goals from Eoghan Conroy and Fergal Whitely were also significant as the beaten Leinster finalists progressed to a 16 August clash with the Munster champions.

Dublin led from the game’s first score, a Whitely point, until full-time though were rarely comfortably clear of the battling Saffrons at Kingspan Breffni Park.

Dublin moved 1-4 to 0-0 ahead thanks in part to Conroy’s ninth minute goal after a failed Antrim clearance, and were eight ahead after 12 minutes.

Antrim conjured their best form in the second quarter though and hit 1-3 without reply at one stage; their goal brilliantly created by a Ryan McKee pass and finished by Conor Small.

The Ulster champions had the margin down to two at 1-6 to 1-4 before Whitely struck Dublin’s second goal from close range after 19 minutes.

It settled Johnny McGuirk’s side who tacked on five more points to lead 2-11 to 1-8 at half-time.

The second-half was a similar story with Dublin always in control, though unable to rack up the big win many expected.

Christy McNaughton top-scored for Antrim with 1-6 and his 44th minute goal left four in it — 2-15 to 2-11. Dublin responded with seven points without reply, however, to secure a slightly flattering 11-point win.

Scorers for Dublin: Matthew Oliver 0-11 (0-10f), Fergal Whitely 1-2, Eoghan Conroy 1-0, Mark Maguire 0-3, Carl Sammon 0-2, Daire Gray, Eoin Foley, Alex Considine and Gavin King 0-1.

Scorers for Antrim: Christy McNaughton 1-6 (0-6f), Conor Small 1-0, Keelan Malloy 0-2, Dylan McLaughlin, Ryan McKee and Conal Doherty Cunning 0-1.

Fergal Whitely scores his sides second goal despite goalkeeper Benny Connor and Donal Carey Fergal Whitely nets for Dublin despite the efforts of Antrim 'keeper Benny Connor and defender Donal Carey. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Eoin Skelly (Na Fianna)

2. Cian Hendricken (Naomh Mearnog)
3. Darragh Butler (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Conor Ryan (Craobh Chiarain)

5. Eoin Foley (Naomh Olaf)
6. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
7. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s)

8. Matthew Oliver (Na Fianna)
10. Carl Sammon (Craobh Chiarain)

9. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
13. Ciaran Dowling (Lucan Sarsfields)
12. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)

15. Alex Considine (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Eoghan Conroy (St Maur’s)
11. Mark Maguire (St Jude’s)


21. Gavin King (Na Fianna) for O’Sullivan (40)
18. Donncha Ryan (St Brigid’s) for Smyth (44)
20. Johnny McGuirk (St Brigid’s) for Dowling (45)
24. Colin Currie (Na Fianna) for Conroy (53)
23. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s) for Considine (59)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member


1. Benny Connor (Mac Uilin)

2. Odhran McKenna (Naomh Eoin)
3. Donal Carey (Creggan)
4. Conor Carson (Naomh Eoin)

7. Sean Duffin (Tir na nOg)
6. Gerard Walsh (O Donnabhain Rosa)
5. Joe Maskey (Naomh Eanna)

8. Cathal McMullan (Loughgiel Shamrocks)
9. Keelan Malloy (Dunloy)

10. Conal Doherty Cunning (Dunloy)
14. Dylan McLaughlin (Shane O’Neills)
12. Christy McNaughton (Ruairi Og Cushendall)

11. Conor Small (Creggan)
13. Diarmuid McShane (MacUilin)
15. Ryan McKee (Loughgiel Shamrocks)


22. Jack Daniels (Padraig Sarseil) for McShane (44)
23. Caolan Blair (Loughgiel Shamrocks) for McKenna (44)
21. Aodhan Burke (St Galls) for McLaughlin (52)
18. Donal McKernan (Padraig Sairseil) for Duffin (68)
20. CJ McKenna (Naomh Eoin) for McKee (68)

Referee: John Keane (Galway)

Mayo get the job done against Kilkenny to set up All-Ireland final meeting with Kerry

Fast finishing Kerry advance to All-Ireland final after blitzing Wexford

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: