This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

Late late show from Kilkenny seals another Leinster minor hurling crown

Kilkenny hit the last four scores of the game to inflict heartbreak on Dublin at Croke Park.

Dublin's David Burke battles it out against Kilkenny's Conor Doheny.
Dublin's David Burke battles it out against Kilkenny's Conor Doheny.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Dublin 1-15
Kilkenny 1-17

Jackie Cahill reports from Croke Park

A SCINTILLATING LATE scoring burst saw Kilkenny retain the Electric Ireland Leinster minor hurling crown at Croke Park this afternoon.

The All-Ireland champions hit the last four scores of the game to overturn a two-point deficit and win by two against Dublin at GAA HQ.

Points from man of the match Richie Leahy (free) and captain Daniel O’Connor levelled matters at 1-15 apiece before subs Conor Hennessy and Edmund Delaney fired over the winning scores in stoppage time.

For Dublin, it’s a second successive provincial final defeat against the Noresiders but the Sky Blues were in a great position down the home straight as they chased down a first Leinster minor crown since 2012.

Matthew Oliver with Andy Gaffney The respective free-takers Andy Gaffney and Matthew Oliver in action today. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Alex Considine made a brilliant impact off the bench after half-time, netting with his first touch as Dublin moved 1-8 to 1-7 clear.

The sides were level four times in the second half but Dublin were three clear at 1-13 to 1-10 before Kilkenny came back.

Ultimately, a ten-point haul from Matthew Oliver proved to be in vain for Dublin as Leahy thundered into the game after half-time.

The Rower-Inistioge player took over free-taking responsibilities from Andy Gaffney, who was subbed off, and Leahy was influential in Kilkenny’s revival.

Kilkenny held a two-point lead at half-time, 1-7 to 0-8, with Tadhg O’Dwyer’s early goal effectively separating the two sides.

O’Dwyer took a crossfield pass from Joey Cuddihy in the sixth minute and after a defensive slip, the James Stephens starlet fired a shot past Eoin Skelly.

That score handed Kilkenny a 1-2 to 0-1 lead early on but Dublin hung in there and were level at 0-7 to 1-4, with Oliver impressive on placed balls.

The Na Fianna player converted all chances bar a late 65 at the end of a half that saw Kilkenny hit seven wides.

Oliver scored all but one of Dublin’s first half points, all from frees, as Fergal Whitely notched a point from play.

But it was Kilkenny who won the day as their bench proved crucial to this win, with Delaney scoring two points and Hennessy another.

Scorers for Dublin: Matthew Oliver 0-10 (9f, 1 45), Alex Considine 1-1, Eoghan Conroy 0-2, Fergal Whiteley & Donal Burke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Andy Gaffney 0-5f, Richie Leahy 0-4 (2f), Tadhg O’Dwyer 1-0, John Donnelly & Edmund Delaney 0-2 each, Joe Connolly, Daniel O’Connor, Joey Cuddihy & Conor Hennessy 0-1 each.


1. Eoin Skelly (Na Fianna)

2. Cian Hendreckin (Naomh Mearnóg)
3. Ciarán Brady (Faughs)
4. Conor Ryan (Craobh Chiaráin)

5. Eoin Foley (Naomh Olaf)
6. Paddy Smyth (Cluain Tarbh)
7. Darragh Butler (Kilmacud Crokes)

8. Matthew Oliver (Na Fianna)
9. Carl Sammon (Craobh Chiaráin)

10. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Mark Maguire (St Jude’s)
12. Eoghan Conroy (St Maur’s)

13. Eoghan Dunne (St Brigid’s)
14. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
15. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)


20. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for Brady (30)
23. Alex Considine (Kilmacud Crokes) for Burke (half-time)
22. Aidan Mellett (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Maguire (41)
19. Ciaran Dowling (Lucan Sarsfields) for Sammon (49)


1. Shane Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
3. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Cathal McGrath (John Lockes)

5. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Darragh Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
7. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)

8. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistoige)
9. Joe Connolly (Clara)

10. Andy Gaffney (Dicksboro)
11. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
12. Daniel O’Connor (O’Loughlin Gaels)

13. Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens)
14. Joey Cuddihy (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Niall Walsh (Windgap)


19. Edmund Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks) for N Walsh (42)
21. Conor Hennessy (Tullogher-Rosbercon) for Gaffney (46)
22. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro) for Donnelly (53)

Referee: Michael Murtagh (Westmeath)

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: