This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Monday 21 October, 2019

Niamh McEvoy bags 1-5 as Dublin come from behind to beat Mayo

Mick Bohan’s side moved top of Division 1 with victory at Croke Park.

Fiona Doherty of Mayo races past Martha Byrne, left, and Olwen Carey of Dublin on her way to scoring her side's third goal.
Fiona Doherty of Mayo races past Martha Byrne, left, and Olwen Carey of Dublin on her way to scoring her side's third goal.
Image: Ray McManus/SPORTSFILE

Dublin 1-17

Mayo 3-9

Daire Walsh reports from Croke Park

DEFENDING CHAMPIONS DUBLIN moved to the summit of the Lidl National Football League Division 1 table with an impressive comeback victory over Mayo at Croke Park.

St Sylvester’s forward Niamh McEvoy ended the contest with an impressive personal haul of 1-5 and was instrumental in steering the Metropolitans towards a second consecutive top-flight triumph.

Trailing by six points (3-2 to 1-2) after 20 minutes, Mick Bohan’s charges slowly reeled in their Connacht rivals.

After the westerners stormed in front with unanswered points from the Kelly sisters – Niamh and Grace – full-forward Rachel Kearns rattled Ciara Trant’s net with a powerful strike.

Dublin’s initial response to this set-back was immediate – Niamh McEvoy’s unstoppable effort raised a green flag at the opposite end – but they suffered a further blow on 11 minutes. Despite hitting the post off a close-range free, Kearns bagged her second goal off the ensuing rebound.

The holders narrowed the gap with a second Davey point, only for Fiona Doherty to subsequently fire home from a tight-angle for Mayo’s third major of the half.

Dublin v Mayo - Lidl Ladies NFL Division 1 Round 3 Kathryn Sullivan of Mayo is tackled by Dublin's Nicole Owens. Source: Ray McManus/SPORTSFILE

The early introductions of Siobhan Killeen and Jennifer Dunne – Player of the Year Sinead Aherne followed in the second half – added an extra spark to the Dublin play, and they helped to reduce their deficit to 3-4 to 1-6 at the interval.

Nicole Owens and McEvoy split the posts on the resumption to bring the gap down to two, but they breathed a sigh of relief when Kearns’ 38th-minute penalty blazed over the crossbar.

Although full-back Niamh Collins was sin-binned as a result of the latter incident, Dublin out-scored their opponents 0-4 to 0-1 in her absence. McEvoy, Carla Rowe and Killeen found the range in this period, while Clodagh McManamon mustered a solitary Mayo score.

The returning Aherne and McEvoy edged Dublin in front for the first time with consecutive frees, before Doherty’s two-point salvo levelled matters moving into the home stretch.

Dublin never panicked though, and McEvoy and Davey raised white flags in the dying moments to see off the Mayo challenge.

Scorers for Dublin: N McEvoy 1-5 (3f), L Davey 0-3 (1f), N Owens 0-2, J Dunne 0-2, S Killeen 0-2, S Aherne 0-1 (1f), H O’Neill 0-1, C Rowe 0-1.

Socrers for Mayo: R Kearns 2-2 (0-1 pen), F Doherty 1-2, G Kelly 0-3 (2f), Clodagh McManamon 0-1, N Kelly 0-1.


1. C Trant

2. M Byrne
3. N Collins
4. K Fitzgibbon

5. A Kane
6. S McGrath
7. L Magee

8. L Collins
9. O Carey

10. H O’Neill
11. S Woods
12. N Owens

13. O Whyte
14. L Davey
15. N McEvoy

R Ruddy for Fitzgibbon (22)
S Killeen for Whyte (23)
J Dunne for Collins (26)
C Rowe for Woods (h/t)
S Aherne for O’Neill (46)
S Fagan for Kane (47)


1. L Brennan

2. N O’Malley
3. R Flynn
4. D Caldwell

5. K Sullivan
6. C McManamon
7. N Moran

8. C McManamon
9. D Finn

10. N Kelly
11. S Cafferky
12. E Needham

13. G Kelly
14. R Kearns
15. F Doherty

R Durkin for E Needham (26)
C Whyte for C McManamon (48)
N Gaughan for G Kelly (48)
G Kelly for N Moran (52)
M Reilly for R Kearns (58)
A Duffy for C McManamon (59)

Ref: B Rice (Down)

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel