Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Mike Egerton Ross Barkley has been awarded a starting role against Costa Rica.
# youth and young manhood
England starts for Barkley, Shaw and Lampard as Hodgson rings changes
Only Gary Cahill and Daniel Sturridge remain from the side that lost the opening matches to Italy and Uruguay.

ENGLAND MANAGER ROY HODGSON announced this evening that he will make nine changes for his side’s final World Cup game against Costa Rica in Belo Horizonte on Tuesday.

Centre-back Gary Cahill and striker Daniel Sturridge will be the only survivors from Thursday’s 2-1 loss to Uruguay, which effectively sealed England’s elimination in the group phase.

“Well, Ben Foster will play in goal,” Hodgson told a pre-match press conference at the Estadio Mineirao. ”The right-back will be Phil Jones. Gary Cahill will play centre-half alongside Chris Smalling, and Luke Shaw will play left-back.

“In midfield we will have (James) Milner, (Frank) Lampard, (Jack) Wilshere, (Ross) Barkley and (Adam) Lallana, and Sturridge will play up front.”

Southampton left-back Shaw, 18, and 20-year-old Everton midfielder Barkley will be making their first starts of the tournament.

Hodgson had already announced that 36-year-old Lampard would captain the side, on what is expected to be his final England appearance, with regular skipper Steven Gerrard starting on the bench.

While there is nothing riding on the game for England, Costa Rica require a point from the game to secure top spot in Group D.

England: Ben Foster; Phil Jones, Gary Cahill, Chris Smalling, Luke Shaw; Frank Lampard (capt), Jack Wilshere; Adam Lallana, Ross Barkley, James Milner; Daniel Sturridge.

- © AFP, 2014

Spain restore pride with comfortable win over Australia

Robben inspires victory against Chile as Dutch claim top spot

Your Voice
Readers Comments