Dublin: 8°C Thursday 19 May 2022

The mighty Flynn strikes late to see Galway past Clare

The Tribesmen scored two late points to secure a narrow victory.

Jason Flynn (15) was the hero for Galway today.
Jason Flynn (15) was the hero for Galway today.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway 2-15

Clare 1-17

INJURY-RAVAGED GALWAY did just enough to out duel Clare in their league opener at Pearse Stadium as Jason Flynn proved the late hero for the Tribesmen who fired 13 wides in the contest.

With the likes of Joe Canning, Conor Cooney, Fergal Moore and Padraig Mannion all sidelined with injury, Flynn stood up to the mark to strike 0-9 in their one-point win as Clare’s Bobby Duggan and Conor McGrath both impressed.

In the opening half Galway quickly went 0-5 to 0-1 in front before both sides hit two points each through Duggan and Colin Ryan for Clare and Gearoid McInerney and Flynn for the hosts who led 0-7 to 0-3 after 22 minutes.

Later in the half, the Banner struck 1-3 without reply against the run of play to lead for the first time as Ryan popped over two frees either side of John Conlon’s goal who flicked in a long Ryan free.

Ryan and Padraig Brehony swapped scores before Galway found the net on the stroke of half time when a long Andy Smith free was collected by Glynn, and he played in Cathal Mannion to give Galway a 1-9 to 1-8 interval lead.

After the restart, a shootout ensued and despite Galway’s wide count increasing they fired a crucial second goal just shy of the hour mark when Glynn brilliantly found Joe Cooney who smashed home to make it 2-12 to 1-15.

Conor McGrath impressed from the Clare bench as his three points kept the banner ticking over and John Conlon had them in front with six minutes to go.

However, Flynn’s 65 and free from an acute angle in stoppage time sent their western neighbours home with nothing.

Scorers for Galway: Jason Flynn 0-9 (6f, 1 ‘65), Cathal Mannion 1-1, Josepth Cooney 1-0, Jonathan Glynn 0-2, Gearoid McInerney, Padraig Brehony and James Regan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Clare: Colin Ryan 0-6 (5f), John Conlon 1-2, Bobby Duggan and Conor McGrath 0-3 each, Colm Galvin, Brendan Bugler and Shane O’Donnell 0-1 each.


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)
17. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
4. Ronan Burke (Turloughmore)

5. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
6. David Collins (Liam Mellows)
21. Andy Smith (Portumna)

8. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan)
9. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)

10. Padraig Brehony (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry)
11. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)
12. Dean Higgins (Castlegar)

13. James Regan (St. Thomas)
14. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

25. Greg Lally (Gort) for Burke (49)
24. Aidan Harte (Gort) for Higgins (52)
Brian Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim) for Regan (64)
19. Paul Killeen (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry) for Brehony (66)


1. Patrick Kelly (Inagh Kilnamona)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

2. Domhnaill O’Donovan (Clonlara)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
26. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
5.Jack Browne (Ballyea)
6. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)
7. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)

8. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
9. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)

10. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
24. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
12. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-On-Fergus)

13. Shane O’Donnell (Eire Og)
14. John Conlon (Clonlara)
15. David Reidy (Eire Og)

21. Conor McGrath (Cratloe) for Reidy (45)
22. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Donnellan (53)
19. Seadhna Morey (Sixmilebridge) for Cleary (65)
23. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara) for Colin Ryan (68)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

It’s a long way back to Tipperary as Dublin rout Premier in league opener

As It Happened: Dublin v Tipperary, Galway v Clare – Allianz Hurling League match tracker

About the author:

Jason Byrne

Read next: