This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Friday 10 July, 2020

Sean Armstrong left out of the Galway side to face Roscommon in Sunday's Connacht final

The Salthill Knocknacarra forward kicked six points in the semi-final win over Mayo.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

KEVIN WALSH HAS named his team for Sunday’s Connacht SFC final against Roscommon, with Sean Armstrong the notable player to miss out.

Armstrong scored six points in the semi-final win over Mayo, all from placed balls, but has been replaced by the pacey Eamonn Brannigan on the Galway inside line.

It’s unclear whether the Salthill Knocknacarra forward has picked up an injury or has simply been omitted for tactical reasons.

In the only other change from the last day, Eoghan Kerin comes in for David Wynne at corner-back.

Roscommon named their team for the clash on Sunday.


1. Ruairi Lavelle (Renvyle)

2. Cathal Sweeney (Kilanin)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)

5. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
7. Liam Silke (Corofin)

8. Fiontan O Curraoin (Mícheal Breathnach)
9. Paul Conroy (St James’)

10. Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
11. Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
12. Johnny Heaney (Killanin)

13. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michaels)
14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
15. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘The year didn’t even really start and you were gone. It was low enough’

‘In most households there are never two Leinster finals in the one week’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: