This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 26 April, 2019

4 senior panelists in Galway side for All-Ireland U21 hurling semi-final against Limerick

Conor Whelan will spearhead the Tribesmen attack.

Conor Whelan and Padraig Maher Conor Whelan in action against Tipperary in the senior semi-final. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

ATTACKER CONOR WHELAN is one of four Galway senior panelists in the county’s U21 team that will take on Limerick in tomorrow’s Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland semi-final clash.

Whelan is named at right corner-forward for the game in Semple Stadium, which will throw in at 6pm.

He’s joined in the team by left half-back Sean Loftus and left half-forward Thomas Monaghan. Both players came on during Galway’s Leinster senior final win over Wexford in July and were unused substitutes in the recent All-Ireland semi-final success against Tipperary.

Thomas Monaghan and Sean Loftus Thomas Monaghan and Sean Loftus celebrate Galway's victory over Wexford. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Right half-back Jack Grealish is also a member of the senior squad but was not on the 26-man panel for that Tipperary match.

Seven players started in Galway’s All-Ireland U21 final loss to Waterford last September – Declan Cronin, Loftus, Dan Nevin, Kevin McHugo, Sean Linnane, Monaghan and Whelan. Grealish and Cian Burke came on as substitutes in that game.

Six players from this Galway side started in Galway’s 2015 All-Ireland minor final triumph against Tipperary. Darragh Gilligan, Grealish, Jack Coyne, Brian Concannon, Monaghan and Loftus are the survivors from that side.


1. Darragh Gilligan (Craughwell)

2. Declan Cronin (Cappataggle – joint captain)
3. Conor Cosgrove (Ardrahan)
4. Ian Fox (Sarsfields)

5. Jack Grealish (Gort)
6. Joe Mooney (Loughrea)
7. Sean Loftus (Turloughmore)

8. Kevin McHugo (Tommie Larkins)
9. Dan Nevin (Cappataggle)

10. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)
11. Sean Linnane (Turloughmore)
12. Thomas Monaghan (Craughwell)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Cian Burke (Athenry)
15. Jack Coyne (Castlegar)

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Munster champions Limerick make one change for All-Ireland U21 semi-final clash

3 changes for Leinster title winners Kilkenny ahead of All-Ireland U21 semi-final against Derry

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel